Courageous

Courageousness moored in Dunmore East, Co. Waterford
Courageous moored in Dunmore East, Co. Waterford

I took this photograph last Sunday as the name of the trawler captured my imagination.  I’ve been thinking about courage a good deal since then and the quote that sums its meaning up best for me is this one:

Courage is being scared to death and saddling up anyway. (John Wayne)

I’d love to know what courage means to you and what is the most courageous act you know.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

9 thoughts on “Courageous”

  1. So many acts of personal courage in recent times, such as those connected to the mass school shootings in the States. They put me to shame as I could never emulate them.

    1. Roy, I agree that there have been lots of acts of personal courage reported in recent times but I think you underestimate yourself. I suspect that none of those who were so courageous in the school shootings, for example, would ever have envisaged themselves as being capable of such deeds.

  2. I see courage as the act of overcoming one’s fears or anxieties. I submit that the most courageous act is to seek the truth about one’s self, and to overcome the psychological defences we’ve unknowingly put in place.

  3. Courage is a moveable feast in that it is beyond definition. I knew a man once who was three feet nine inches tall
    He had difficulty walking on his stunted legs yet, I would watch him limp to work every morning. And seeing him do that-facing the indifference of the world- on a daily basis told me what courage was all about.

    1. Hello Stan, thanks for writing. Yes, I agree that ‘courage’ is beyond definition but I love the way you’ve highlighted how you gained insight into what it’s all about. jx

Leave a Reply

