Swimming in a Rainbow

I finally fulfilled one of my many dreams this evening. I got to swim in a rainbow. Yes, I mean it!

There was a magnificent rainbow reflecting on the sea here in Tramore and I happened to be down the Prom with my swimming gear in the car. I ran along the brightly coloured wet sand and followed the rainbow’s arc into the sea. It was indescribably wonderful.

Naturally, I thought of the inspirational words of Christy Brown, so full of hope, that my mother used to quote and often sent to me when she knew I was troubled about something:

And there are rainbows

There are and there always will be rainbows. ย Be sure you appreciate them!

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

23 thoughts on “Swimming in a Rainbow”

      1. And your photo is gorgeous, too, Jean! We need to invest in a good camera. I’ve been taking my photos with my iPhone, which turn out pretty good for a cell, but not as good as they can be. I share many on facebook, but may do another post with some bay area shots. Anyway, have a great day! ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. What a coincidence. I saw a rainbow over the sea from my house just five minutes ago. I wonder if there was a chest full of gold pieces lying undiscovered at the end of either of our rainbows.

  2. It was many years before I discovered that a rainbow is actually real and physical, not a sort of mirage. I can’t claim to have ever been in one though. Maybe the fairies have you now Jean ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Hi Roy, I know you’re not into poetry very much but this is where your comment brought me ~ to W.B. Yeats’, The Stolen Child, from which this is the opening stanza:

      WHERE dips the rocky highland
      Of Sleuth Wood in the lake,
      There lies a leafy island
      Where flapping herons wake
      The drowsy water rats;
      There we’ve hid our faery vats,
      Full of berrys
      And of reddest stolen cherries.
      Come away, O human child!
      To the waters and the wild
      With a faery, hand in hand,
      For the world’s more full of weeping than you can understand.

Leave a Reply

