Finding the Day I Thought I’d Thrown Away

There are days that seem like they’ve been lost in a hodge-podge of stifling frustration and ‘moolachness.’  (‘Moolachness’ is a word derived from the Irish language and my creativity, just in case you were wondering.)

By 6pm yesterday, it seemed that a whole precious day had been completely and utterly wasted and I was like a raving banshee.  The fiery vibes clearly went to warn hubby who phoned to say he wouldn’t be home until around 9pm.

Instinct, which knows me better than I know myself,  brought me to Garrarus Beach ostensibly for a swim but there was so much more…..

There was a clearness in the air; dancing waves; Summery Sea Pinks,  and ever-changing light that was like a sponge mopping my raging brow.

Here’s a glimpse of the wonder that gave me back the day I thought I’d thrown away:

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

13 thoughts on “Finding the Day I Thought I’d Thrown Away”

  1. You have a great empathy with nature Jean. I have similar days when I resolve to write from dawn until dusk but nothing happens. In the end a couple of hours trudging a cliffpath or common and you realise that your tasks weren’t that vital after all.

  2. Hi Roy, I’m not so sure that (for me) it’s a realisation that the tasks weren’t that vital after all ~ it’s more a burning sense that time should be well spent and not frittered away as it’s so precious and can’t be got back.
    BTW, you certainly have plenty of stunning places to trudge or skip on lovely Jersey!

    1. Oh Willow, I wish I could put it in a bottle for you. I feel so, so lucky to live here. I know I’m fortunate beyond fortunate. This is where people come on their holidays, for goodness sake!!!

  3. I always feel peace and serenity when I see your photos, Jean! They’re lovely, as always, and I’m envious of you being able to swim as often as you do. I love to swim, but we don’t have the “pools” readily available. Wishing you a lovely Mother’s Day! xx

  4. There are two ways to find a day thought to be thrown away:
    1.) Find it, as you did, while still in that same day. The peacefulness is always right under our feet when we look for it;
    2.) Uncover the evidence of art or work done at some time in the past that you had forgotten about. Then, the day in which it was done, even if not by specific calendar date, becomes real for a moment, and presents the peacefulness that is again right there under our feet.

Leave a Reply

