NATURE AT WORK

This is my very favourite post of the blogging year so far. I’m fortunate enough to know ‘The Mermaid’ in person; have witnessed her absolute love of nature; seen her drawing; heard her wit and most importantly felt her sincerity.
It’s a post I’d love to have written (and painted) but most of all one which I’d love the world to appreciate for all its layers and magic.

THE MERMAIDS PURSE

FOX2 SM I work long shifts in a factory in an industrial estate. During the time I am at work I sometimes think of my real self as being switched off. I knuckle down, my focus narrows, I apply myself to the job at hand. If I didn’t do this I fear I might spend the whole time sobbing.

It’s not that it’s a bad place to work. The conditions are very good and I consider myself lucky but being in a bright indoor place pounding with noise, working hard and staying focussed on a nuanced but repetitive job among metal moving parts can seem like an unending assault on all the fraying senses.

I take my breaks outside in my car and it is this that redeems me. For the most part I bury myself in one of the books I am reading, escaping into another world. At other times I…

View original post 846 more words

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

3 thoughts on “NATURE AT WORK”

Leave a Reply

