Saturday Sense

Blogging is great but there are times when it can be very difficult to convey things. Last night, for example, I would have loved to send you all the divine scent of a rhododendron that is blooming for the first time in my garden.

Anyway, this all brings me to my new approach to spring-cleaning or, I should say, advanced decluttering.

I was totally overwhelmed the other day by the extent of the mess and heaps of ‘stuff” that needed to be addressed ~ now there’s a nice word for it!

In the midst of it all, I came upon a huge box of cassette tapes that my father had compiled over a long winter. He wanted to have his absolute favourite music on tape so that he didn’t have to listen to music/songs that he wasn’t too keen on.  It took him hours and hours to complete this task. But with his music in hand, he developed a new-found love for washing-up the dishes and he danced and sang his way through the gungiest saucepans, roasting tins … the lot,  with more gusto than I could ever describe.

So, I dug out an old cassette player and got into the mood!  Before I knew it, I was bobbing around the room, loading bag after bag with the most indescribable mess you’ve ever seen ~ even got  courage to ‘deal’ with under and behind the bed!

Off now to enjoy another session!

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

9 thoughts on “Saturday Sense”

  1. How can your “Get-up-and-Go” not happen when listening to Abba! Fun stuff! Now…maybe I should find MY inspirational music to deal with MY “Advanced Clutter”!

    1. Dale, I hope you’ve found YOUR inspirational music. I have to say that it was like a mystery tour when I put on Dad’s cassette. I remember alright hearing Abba blaring from the kitchen when he was washing-up!

      1. My dad used to love Rod Stewart. I can see him doing his silly dance to “If you think I’m sexy”! Maybe I’ll have to play THAT one!

          1. In a funny way, I hope so! Simply because when I do think of him, wiggling his bum, clicking his tongue and snapping his fingers, I can’t help but smile!

Leave a Reply

