My Turn of the Year Moment

Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford
Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford

I guess everyone has ‘a turn of the year’ event and for me it is my first evening swim and last night that moment was realised with perfection.

Happy Times! Photo: Harry Fox
Happy Times!
Photo: Harry Fox

Sunset is at approximately 8.30pm here so we took a family trip to Garrarus shortly before that with two of the dogs in tow.

The beach was empty; the sea was calm and the light was stunning. It was all very heaven and made even more so by the arrival of Liam, who lives nearby, and who was as friendly, affable and appreciative of ย ‘our’ beloved Garrarus as always.

Yes, an evening dip to remember and savour. Summer is definitely just over the horizon but how could one not love the splash up to it ~ that glorious anticipation …..

Shades of Summer
Shades of Summer

What’s YOUR ‘turn of the year’ moment?

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

21 thoughts on “My Turn of the Year Moment”

  1. When I was in my twenties, I used swim early most mornings between March and October. My latest swim in the year was on December 1st. I used to find that first Spring dip much colder than the last Autumn one, which had the advantage of Summer warming behind it.

    That beach looks beautiful in your photos. And no crowds, either. Bliss ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Hi Sarah, yes the Spring dip can be a lot cooler. We’re lucky this year that we didn’t have much in the way of cold weather over the winder so that chill hasn’t happened.
      Garrarus is a paradise beach, to me anyway!

  2. I salute your bravery Jean and I will take your word for it that it was quite pleasant in the water. Even though the strand is becoming more popular it still amazes me how often you can have the place to yourself. It was a nice evening and I enjoyed shooting the breeze with your husband while you swam and your son entertained the dogs ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Morning Liam! No bravery involved, just addiction. You make me think of the ‘men’ retiring to chat and drink port or whatever in Jane Austen’s era, though I’m not so sure about her women, apart from maybe Lydia in Pride and Prejudice, heading for a mad swim!

  3. Certainly it’s felt like winter just disappeared this weekend. Here in Jersey I consider the arrival of the netballers from Redbridge as the first sign of Spring. They’ve been visiting Jersey each February since before I can remember.

  4. What a perfect ending to an evening, Jean! Great photo and when I was younger, going to the beach was frequent, body surfing and frying in the sand…now that I’m older, I prefer swimming in lakes and rivers, but will always love the beach for its tranquil setting…

    1. Hi Lauren, interesting about the lakes and rivers. I’ve scant experience of either in terms of swimming but must give them another shot. Must remember that they don’t have salt water!!!

      1. We’re near Lake Tahoe, which is just gorgeous and we’ve camped all our lives, so swimming in rivers has always been fun for the kids, too. We’ve even found some great swimming holes and fresh water seems to be more favored for me as I get older. Because the kids have lived here where the ocean is colder and sometimes with sharks, they haven’t grown up swimming in the ocean as I did, so they also prefer fresh water…But like I said, I love the beach for other reasons…:)

Leave a Reply

