Does Your Attire Impact on Your Blogging Style?

I ask this question in all seriousness and I’d love to know if you have ‘gear’ that you generally wear when you are writing your posts.

I confess that I have never written a post while all dressed up. I have to be in my relaxed clothes and by that I tend to mean, pjs and dressing gown, or layers of clothes to keep me nice and snug if I’m just back from a swim in the sea and full of inspiration. The pic above gives a general idea of what I’m talking about but I certainly wouldn’t have the nail varnish …..

Does what you wear have an effect on what you write? I think it probably does as we (I) feel and think differently depending on what we’re (I’m) wearing. I think I feel more in touch with the real me when I’m not in professional attire, such as a suit and high heels. I can’t imagine what I might write if I wasn’t in relaxed mode ~ perhaps much more work-oriented stuff and that would mean sociology and social policy material which matters hugely to me but which has never really found its way in a formal way onto Social Bridge.

So, what about you? What’s your feel about all this? I came across an ‘update’ from a connection on Linkedin today that simply said: I never wear a tie, should I? Clearly there are lots of different approaches to style in terms of clothes and writing so let’s explore it a little!

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

11 thoughts on “Does Your Attire Impact on Your Blogging Style?”

  1. I suppose attire would certainly inspire,
    And should be balanced if you’re to roll with it smoothly.
    To impress in a dress, or relax in some slacks,
    Reflects what she has on her mind, absolutely.

    Some think a nice salad may require no dressing,
    But a writer uncloaked is confessing.
    So I say drop the dare and have something to wear,
    At least have a bonnet while writing a sonnet.

    You may expound as you travel around,
    But naked not far should you roam.
    To add flair to loungewear, a boutonnière might show care,
    Intensive, but not that expensive.

    For your entourage wear a nice corsage.
    Perhaps a bit pensive, but not so offensive,
    Unadorned, then stay home to finish the tome,
    Let the words be what is intensive.

    Themes and plots need disclosure,
    I’m sure about that,
    So sport nothing at all if that be your call,
    But be careful of over-exposure.

      1. Hours yet away from any scheduled meetings, I was casual. From a glance, a person would’ve seen a soft cotton shirt, khakis, and tennis shoes. A belt, yes, I wore a belt. All else is left to speculation, but I assure you I was sans hat, and gloves are too clumsy for the keyboard.

  2. I wear jeans, t-shirts, jumpers, that sort of thing, plus my Birkenstock sandals, of course (they keep me earthed) — but then that’s my usual gear. I don’t have much that’s smart. Sometimes in the winter, I’m wearing about three jumpers.

  3. What an interesting question, I dress casual, jeans, blouse, sweater, socks that I knit myself, I don’t own any high heels but I have three pair of hiking boots 🙂

Leave a Reply

