Gadgets for Blogging

This is my first ever post from anything other than my desktop or a laptop. I’m working on hubby’s phone and am wondering now to what extent other bloggers operate from what seem like very new-fangled gadgets to me. I’m intrigued as I suspect desktops, especially, are like yesterday’s news or even ‘way back when stuff.’

I wrote the above yesterday when separated from my desktop but I’m more curious than ever now that I’m back in my natural habitat.

I tried uploading a photo of a cherry blossom that I took on the phone but ran out of battery so here’s a blast of green from my recent archives.

Green

(And that’s another thing, do you feel that a post is naked without a photo or two. I reckon that the nakedness I feel when I don’t have a photo or two in a post is the nearest thing to what I suspect people who wear make-up must feel when they have to face the world without it.)

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

26 thoughts on “Gadgets for Blogging”

  1. I can’t be doing with gadgets – I can barely work my push-button Nokia. As for pics I do feel a bit of pressure to include one or two within every post, but they can serve a purpose in breaking up a ‘wordy’ post rather than necessarily being of any merit.

    1. Good afternoon Roy, the analogy between the photographs and the make-up only hit me this morning. See, I couldn’t really grasp the make-up thingy and selfies as I don’t wear make-up EVER but I get it about a post ‘going out in public’ without a photograph.
      There’s also the question now about ‘wordy’ posts. I feel that they are coming to have less and less of a place in the blogging world as people seem to think that they don’t have time to read them. I wonder is this a bit like mini-skirts?

    1. Hi Navigator, thanks for writing. Do you think it’s just stuff on social media that requires images or have we regressed to more childlike ways, as when the picture book or comics held attention?

      1. That’s an excellent question. If we assume Christopher Lasch’s “The Culture of Narcissism” to be true for argument’s sake, and then adopt Heinz Kohut’s assertion that narcissism is a disorder of arrested development (v. Otto Kernberg’s assertion that narcissism is a disorder of pathological personality development), the general maturity level may indeed by dropping with each successive generation.

        A rather insightful topic to get my brain in gear this morning! Cheers.

          1. I fear my books, especially the in-progress sequel, will be similarly sobering. I’m guardedly confident I have discovered the means by which Lasch’s work can be unified with Edward Gibbon’s “Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire.”

            If I am correct, the process of social decay which caused the Roman Empire to collapse upon itself was a narcissistic one, and western civilization (especially the Anglo-American empire) is in the midst of a similar process of narcissistic decay.

            Ever read Isaac Asimov’s original “Foundation” SF trilogy?

        1. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Foundation_trilogy

          It’s an older work, and a classic. Apparently Asimov was deep influenced by Gibbon’s work, and applied the concept of collapse of civilization in a science fiction work that was galactic in scale.

          A mathematician devises the branch of psychohistory (much like mathematical physics), and predicts the collapse of the empire. Virtually nobody believes this, and so he forms two foundations (one is secret) to guide humanity through the dark ages, thereby reducing it from 10,000 years to 1,000 years (or something like that – it’s been a while).

          Think of it as applying quantum mechanics principles and math to sociology. Quantum mechanics tells us that we can’t predict the behaviour of a single particle, but that we can define aggregate behaviour statistically. Swap particles for people and you get the concept.

          Interestingly, the basis to my work (a unified construct of gender narcissism) suggests that the thesis itself will either be disbelieved or face outright hostility. I’ve tried to make this as interesting as I can for the average reader, with some apparent degree of success.

  2. Jean, I occasionally use a photograph with a blog post, but normally I don’t. I Don’t feel naked without photographs, but I do tend to feel naked without my clothes. And when that occurs, photographs not only will not help, but are greatly discouraged. I suppose I could post from my telephone, but I’d rather use some other appliance. Now, if technology would combine the use of a refrigerator with a cellular phone, that would be progress. Think of the convenience of having a pint of ale chilled and ready at your fingertips while awaiting some thought to occur or phrase to develop, not to mention whilst standing in line at the bank, the grocers, or post office. Aha, post office–the room at the end of the hall where I go to work on my blog.
    This comment was not sent from my cordless drill or riding lawnmower, but was conceived very near a pot of coffee.

    1. Van, I think you’re a prime example of someone who doesn’t need photos in a blog post as your words convey your message and personality so well.
      (You’ve got me wondering now if people write differently depending on the clothes they’re wearing ….. watch this space )

      1. Hmmm…now you’ll have me conscious of my attire when I write. I usually do wear something comfortable. Wonder what would happen to a story if I wore a tuxedo while word hammering? Or a clown costume? Or just a silly hat?

  3. I read a couple of blogs that do not use photos and it is the quality of the thoughts and the writing that attracts me.

  4. Well, I never wear make-up but I do feel my posts are naked without a photo. I think images break up the text, a big block of which can look rather severe on the screen. I hope my face doesn’t look severe without make-up to soften it!

    1. Sarah, great to find a kindred spirit. Your use of the word ‘severe’ made me smile as it was one that my father used to use a lot. (He liked people to be ‘animated’, in other words smiling. Whatever about the ‘severe’ look, I know that my one episode with make-up made me look like a clown!!!

    1. Great to hear from you, Angie! Yes, I’ve been in your situation on the library computers. It always feels so different but there a sense of being ‘at home’ in the community there, for me at any rate. How about you?

  5. It can be quite frustrating to want to share an article, only to find that it does not contain any sharable image. My opinion is that every post ought to have access to at least one sharable image, even if that image is simply the blogger’s logo… Good for you, for stepping away from the computer and trying something new! I’ve made a few minor edits, but never been brave enough to post from the iPad… 🙂 ❤ ❤

    1. Hi KwH, yes, the idea of a sharable image is quite dear to me too.
      Have to say, I don’t know that I’ll be moving to far away from the trusty desktop after that little foray with the phone!

Leave a Reply

