A Dappled Feast

I woke to thick mist on Sunday morning and  a mad longing to find my anchorage in Mount Congreve Garden. A tiny patch of blue eventually forced its way through and I ran out of the sleeping house to be greeted by a Mount Congreve that I had never witnessed there before ~ dancing colours, shadows and a luxurious vibrancy that made my heart sing.

While I’d been waiting for the mist to lift, I’d ascertained that Sunday (April 6) was the day that William Wordsworth had been appointed Poet Laureate in 1843. The daffodils in Mount Congreve were in full bloom and as I walked down the avenue, I heard a woman saying to her male companion: You can certainly see what William Wordsworth was talking about. It took every ounce of restraint not to burst into the last stanza of The Daffodils which has punctuated my life in so many ways:

For oft, when on my couch I lie
In vacant or in pensive mood,
They flash upon that inward eye
Which is the bliss of solitude;
And then my heart with pleasure fills,
And dances with the daffodils. 
(William Wordsworth)
 

And, as I wandered through the magnificent gardens, W.B. Yeats seemed to be everywhere with his great lines from The Song of Wandering Aengus:

And walk among long dappled grass,
And pluck till time and times are done
The silver apples of the moon,
The golden apples of the sun.
 

So here’s a hint of  what unfolded during my wanderings:

 

Remember that Mount Congreve Gardens are open each Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday from 10am-5.30.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

20 thoughts on “A Dappled Feast”

      1. Mostly, there are those on the shady side of the street who still have some. But! After a high of 22 yesterday, and a high this morning of 15, one would think most of the rest will disappear. However! They are CALLING FOR MORE SNOW!!! tonight! That’s OK, it will be the type that does NOT stay around (she repeats as a mantra….) 😉

  1. Its official… I am now living my love of nature vicariously through you Jean! I can actually smell it 🙂
    Thank you thank you for sharing such a beautiful place with us.

    1. Hi Roy, glad you like the photos. The railway runs just outside the perimeter of Mount Congreve and is used now by a lovely old train that is mainly for kids of all ages. Yes, the White House is Mount Congreve which was designed by John Roberts who is very famous and from Waterford City.

Leave a Reply

