Among my Souvenirs

I’ve struck lucky lately having ‘conversations’ with people here on WordPress. There’s something different about having that chat in real time, isn’t there?

Well, the same thing has just happened on Twitter. I just hit on a tweet which said: The No. 16 bus is great. Sitting beside an old man with a bottle of wine and an old record.’

I simply had to find out about the ‘old record’ and the response came straight away: It says ‘among my souvenirs’ on the back.

Needless to say, that had my flying to YouTube to resurrect the lines and half lines that starting playing from my memory. Oftentimes, when father and I were chatting, he’d mention something like sealing wax and I’d say how I’d love to smell it again. He would invariably say, ‘Oh, it’s among my souvenirs.’ 

Embed from Getty Images

There’s so many kinds of souvenirs, aren’t there? Real, imagined, invaluable, sensory, lost, found and kept …..

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

6 thoughts on “Among my Souvenirs”

  1. Smells often conjure memories that are not always easy to explain. Home always smelled so incredibly “safe” to me as did the homes of my grandparents. There was an uneasy smell that I learned to recognize in some places where I did not feel so safe, and felt some who lived there were not necessarily happy. Some years later, I associated that smell with “despair”, but I cannot describe it to you.

    Connie Francis also covered “Among My Souvenirs”, and it was a haunting piece. Had a chance to meet Connie briefly at a convention back in the early 90’s. She was a lovely person, and very polite.

  2. Hi Van, thanks for such thought-provoking words about smell and place and people and the human condition. I think you’ve described something that most of us can probably identify with but which is very difficult to put into words.
    How fortunate you were to meet Connie Francis. Somehow it doesn’t surprise me that she was so pleasant.

  3. But, what kind of wine was it? 🙂

    I used sealing wax during my high school and college years. It had such an elegance on the back of a letter. I would sit in the floor of my closet writing by a carefully shielded candle (I know, horror to think of that now, but there was really nothing nearby for a candle flame to catch), and then use the candle to light the wick for the sealing wax stick, pressing my W into the little warm glob was such a satisfying feeling. After it would dry and cool, I would run my fingers over it with my eyes closed, trying to decipher if I would be able to make out the letter without my eyesight. And yes, I would smell the wax, inhaling the scent along with all the other sensual experiences involved in that little ritual. How fitting to think of it as “among my souvenirs.”

    1. Hi Suz, great to hear from you. Yes, a few other tweeters asked about the wine. It seemed to be white cooking one of one kind or another.
      I just love how you describe your relationship with sealing wax. The smell of it is wafting from the computer. jx

  4. See last line of first verse of Peter, Paul and Mary’s hit song, “Puff the Magic Dragon” (1967) taken from the poem of by Leonard Lipton (1959) …

    Puff, the magic dragon lived by the sea
    And frolicked in the autumn mist in a land called Honah Lee,
    Little Jackie paper loved that rascal puff,
    And brought him strings and sealing wax and other fancy stuff.

    1. Sarah, how well I remember ‘Puff the Magic Dragon’ but somehow never picked up on the sealing wax in it. Thanks for highlighting it and the fact that it was taken from a poem.

Leave a Reply

