Happiness and the First Thought it Evokes

Today is International Day of Happiness, something I only realised early this morning.

I’ve spent hours, now, reading poems and quotes about happiness and how it has been perceived, defined, experienced, the lot.

But before I started out on that venture, one vision flashed into my mind as my symbol of happiness. It was William Wordsworth’s ‘host of golden daffodils.’

Mother with Daffodils Photo: Frank Tubridy
Mother with Daffodils
Photo: Frank Tubridy

Daffodils are bright, vibrant, perennial, and their cups overflow with happiness ~ past, present and future.

I could write about them forever but what I really want to know is what is the first thought that the word ‘Happiness’ evokes for you?

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

23 thoughts on “Happiness and the First Thought it Evokes”

  1. I did not know there was an International Day of Happiness! How Happy that makes me feel! Hmmm… good question, the colour Yellow makes me think of happy!

  2. That’s one of my favorite poems and I think of it every Spring. Happiness brings up lots of thoughts – Spring, sunshine, family, friends (sorry I couldn’t pick just one)! Happy Spring!

  3. Happiness = Freedom From Care & Worry. In my older and saintly years I’d like to remove the greatest of these from all good people. Too many people though prefer to invent worries and this prevents them ever being truly happy.

    1. Hi Roy, that’s an interesting view of ‘happiness.’
      Do you think that people actively seek out worries? I’m not so sure, at all. I think worriers would be more than delighted to have a non-saintly and any-aged you making them smile and showing them the light!

      1. Morning Jean. I’m sure of it. Too few people count their blessings and instead find things to complain about, imagined grievances to nurse. Apart from anything else this demeans those that have real problems in life who – quite often – set an example by dealing with their problems with dignity instead of telling everyone who’ll listen.

        1. Roy, this is so interesting! I agree that too few people count their blessings but I’m just not convinced that it’s quite as black and white as saying that people go around finding things imagined ailments to nurse. What about people with depression or anxiety or those in absolute poverty, for example? Are the latter in your second category?

          1. Anyone with clinical depression or who finds themselves penniless has every reason not to be content Jean. Yet many of those set an example to others by bearing up as best they can.
            Not ailments as such, but too many people have no idea of how lucky they are compared with 98% of the world’s population. They bemoan the fact that they don’t have more and blame others for this. Never satisfied, never seeing the good in anyone. Not a state of happiness. Or maybe all the moaners are over here? I can’t believe that though.

            1. Maybe you just know them all! I can hardly see to type this I’m laughing so much! Happiness is … having people like you writing to me from Jersey!

  4. Diving into the local stream – fresh, cool, clear water which sits on my hot skin and sizzles in the sun! (Although born in Blythe, I grew up in Northern Rhodesia.) And William Wordsworth’s daffodils was one of the first poems I remember from school. Curiously, when I lived in Ireland for a short time, when the daffies bloomed, I HAD to have a photo which always makes me smile!

      1. I know sometimes I crave it , but that is good because when it arrives you can just bask in it.
        I visted Waterford and the surrounding area about 20yrs ago. My husband could not make the trip so I went with a friend . We loved the tme we had chatting together, meedting people and of course the views.
        My Dad was a Dublin man.
        Have a good day and be happy. xxxxx

        1. Ah Willow, that’s so good to know that you were here in Co. Waterford and that you have serious Irish blood!
          I agree about basking in ‘amicable silence,’ though I tend to call it ‘companionable silence.’ Same thing, I think.

Leave a Reply

