Old Haunts

Today has been a busy day and one on which I spent time in Clonmel, Co. Tipperary. Clonmel is a bustling town and a place which was ‘home’ for eight years of my life ~ years when I was studying and working in Dublin but travelling back and forth to see my parents and new found friends.

On my way home this evening, I stopped off on an old bridge, Sir Thomas’ Bridge, which is about two miles outside the town and one which was the half-way point for many a walk. As I watched the River Suir flowing swiftly along, I couldn’t but think of all the ups, downs, currents, floods, ripples and waves that have unfolded since I last stood there in the mid-1980s.

River Suir from Sir Thomas' Bridge near Clonmel, Co. Tipperary.
River Suir from Sir Thomas’ Bridge near Clonmel, Co. Tipperary.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

10 thoughts on “Old Haunts”

Leave a Reply

