Heart to Heart

Tramore Beach, Co. Waterford

St. Valentine’s Day, for me,  is all about hearts.  This short poem by the great Langston Hughes is one that evokes thoughts of all the sensitivities that surround love, heartache, heartbreak and, of course, those heart-to-hearts that are the most fundamental connections in what can be a bruising world.

The Dream Keeper

Bring me all of your dreams,

You dreamers,

Bring me all your

Heart melodies

That I may wrap them

In a blue cloud-cloth

Away from the too-rough fingers

Of the world.

(Langston Hughes)

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

11 thoughts on “Heart to Heart”

      1. Roger is an old friend of mine. He’s a delightful person. His lyrics are poetry. And he’s a fine guitarist and musical technician. This past year, I had him overhaul my old Les Paul, and he did a marvelous job on it. Glad you liked the tune. 🙂

Leave a Reply

