Making Connections

My 2014 theme word Connection is one that keeps banging on different doors in my head.

I’m not sure if kids still play that card game ‘Fish in the Pond,’ the one in which you lay out all the playing cards face down and then take turns to try and find ‘pairs.’ The trick is to remember where your opponent has replaced say the Queen of Hearts when you you have just upended the Queen of Spades.

It was a game we seemed to play endlessly and I always loved that feeling of finding the match and adding a new pair to my stash.

While I haven’t played the card game for yonks, I find myself thinking of it when two people who I have known in their individual capacities turn out to be closely related in some way, especially married to each other.

When the penny drops that this is a ‘pair,’ I feel like grabbing the two and putting them neatly to one side with all the other pairs and wonder how on earth I hadn’t made the connection before, especially from what both had been telling me about their lives.

But life isn’t quite as simple as a game of cards with all the pairs eventually being found. Apart from the numbers aspect, there’s layers and layers of intricacies and inter-connections that make it more like dealing with shifting grains of sand than a handy pack of cards.

But, think of the lovely flow of warm sand spilling through one’s fingers ~ so familiar, yet so infinite…..

Me playing in the Sand Photo: Frank Tubridy
Me playing in the Sand
Photo: Frank Tubridy

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

9 thoughts on “Making Connections”

  1. Then there are the most unlikely pairs; the ideal pair that keep just missing each other; those that resolutely refuse to be paired. But unhappily many pairs that ultimately don’t really match.

    1. Hi Roy, I couldn’t agree more. Fish in the Pond had the effect of implying a fairy tale endings, perfect matches and the like that certainly don’t reflect ”real life’ for many people, if any?

  2. Fish a great start game for any household much enjoyed in our house too.I love the photo a treasured image no doubt.

Leave a Reply

