Calm between Storms

Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford
Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford

Co. Waterford has been getting quite a battering from the storms that have been causing havoc in Ireland and the UK in recent weeks.

Today was a day on which I felt a driving need for reassurance that everything was okay with the world and especially in precious places around Tramore that somehow anchor me.

Newtown Cove, Tramore
Newtown Cove, Tramore

Yes, sands and stones had shifted but out in Newtown Wood daffodil shoots glinted at me with a promise of brightest yellow in a few weeks.

Newtown Wood, Tramore
Newtown Wood, Tramore

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

23 thoughts on “Calm between Storms”

    1. Hi Dale, lovely to hear from you. I can’t begin to imagine what it must be like NOT to see daffodil shoots in February. The ones in the garden are in bud and showing the tiniest bit if yellow. When do yours eventually show their pretty faces?

  1. “I felt a driving need for reassurance that everything was okay with the world”
    I think this is exactly what I have been feeling in the past week, and yet, it eludes me. Perhaps the closest I came was tonight when I thought about “Pulling Leather.”

  2. You’ve been on my mind a lot lately Jean because of the storms that have been battering the south. Please let me know if there is anything I can do over there to help. Take care!

    1. Hi Billie, thanks very much for writing and for your kind offer. Glad to say that our family is fine. Hearts just have to go out to those whose houses and businesses have been flooded. My husband is a bit of a veteran of flooding as his previous premises in Clonmel was subject to awful floods before the defences were erected.
      The power of nature is so incredible but I suppose we can’t expect to have all the positive sides without experiencing some of the negatives.
      So kind of you to write!

  3. Ah, signs of Spring. I’m sure the daffs are out in the Jersey lanes too but it’s not been walking weather recently has it? We’ve had everything thrown over the sea walls here except something useful like crates of whiskey 🙂

      1. I had in mind MacKenzie’s ‘Whisky Galore’ – but last night I read a lovely chapter from ‘The Irish RM’ where the coastal population fall upon cases of sherry washed ashore and drink themselves silly with the local constabulary slyly joining in instead of restoring order.

Leave a Reply

