The Blogging Break and Its Implications

I took the month of January off from posting here on Social Bridge and I really wondered how the month’s break would pan out.

I had a lot of grandiose ideas about all the ‘stuff’ I would get done, if blogging wasn’t on my mind ~  de-cluttering the house; reading the ever-growing pile of must-read books; visiting all sorts of places that I’m dying to see here in Co. Waterford and surrounding counties; healthy cooking; ‘spring-cleaning’ my computer.  Well, I might as well tell you that none of that got done, for more than about a sum total of two hours.  So, I’ve now agreed with myself that blogging is more of an inspiration than an impediment to doing these sorts of things.

I was rather amazed to find that I hardly took a photograph during the month. Okay, the weather wasn’t great but that’s never stopped me before. Here’s one, though, that I took in mid-January that I continue to love:

Tramore Bay, Co. Waterford
Tramore Bay, Co. Waterford

So what the hell did I do for the month?

The toughest part was taking the decision to have my precious thirteen and a half year old Cavalier King Charles, Sophie, put down as she developed severe kidney failure and her quality of life had reached a point that both she and I found unacceptable. It’s three weeks today that I held her for the last time as she parted this life.  It was sad, sad, sad and remains so BUT I am truly glad that she didn’t have to try and battle on somehow, as she would if she were human.

After a couple of weeks of pining for Soph, I decided that the only way to honour her memory and seek to heal the raw ache in my heart was to get a puppy. I was filled with doubts right up until the moment that I met the brown-eyed gaze of a tiny cross between a springer and a cocker spaniel with long soft ears in a farmyard somewhere in the depths of Co. Wexford. This little guy, Stan, is settling in and carving his own identity into my life. Dog-lovers will understand what I’m talking about . I know that non-dog-lovers won’t!

Puppy Love
Puppy Love

The other major happening has been working like the clappers on building an online identity for  hubby’s carpet business. This is a whole new adventure as we have always kept our careers separate.  I’d often wondered (and still do) about married couples who work together but so far we haven’t run into any roaring and screaming online or offline!  It’s early days so I’d be more than happy to hear from you veterans!

Carpets, Carpets Everywhere!
Carpets, Carpets Everywhere!

I’d thought, too, that by today I would have a whole wadge of wonderful ideas for the direction that Social Bridge would take in 2014.  I’ve got a few on scraps of paper here and there and look forward to developing them further in the near future.

Most of all, though, the blogging break, made me realise how much I enjoy blogging and interacting with other bloggers. Does that give you a clue about one of the directions I’m planning?

It’s great to be back!

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

28 thoughts on “The Blogging Break and Its Implications”

  1. Jean, I am sorry for the loss of your friend, Sophie. I say that with as much empathy and understanding as I can have, although I do realize no one other than you can know completely what that relationship meant to you. But beyond that, I’m glad to see you back. As for carpets, I’d be interested in one similar to Aladdin’s that would fly. Of course today, they would be required to have seat belts and helmets, I suppose. It should be an “all weather” kind of flying carpet, resistant to stains and dirt considering the kinds of adventure that are customary to heathen rascals like me. Keep on rockin’.

  2. Hi Jean, I’m still on my blogging break but your post title pulled me in. 🙂 Sorry to hear about Sophie. You know we have Copper now, but lost Lucky Girl, our black lab over 2 years ago. It’s tough beyond words and tears…so I do understand. About 5 months later we adopted Copper, our chocolate lab. It’s hard to believe we’ve had him for 2 years now. We went through some backyard destruction, separation anxiety, but he’s mellowed out and is such a charmer.
    Anyway, Stan is absolutely adorable and I’m sure he’ll bring you much joy, happiness and unconditional love. Your photo is lovely, too, by the way…I’ll still be on break, but might visit occasionally.
    Part of my reason is our daughter’s healthy symptoms came back last week, which honestly plummeted my mood. The diagnosis is unclear so we’re working on a second opinion at her college medical center. It’s serious, though, she has liver damage, but we don’t know why. She’s healthy, doesn’t drink, etc., so when we found out over a year ago, it was devastating. We know now though that this whole thing began in 2009 but wasn’t diagnosed until Oct. 2012. The original diagnosis is slow going, but will worsen and the only cure will be a liver transplant for her survival. Daunting, beyond words, and so are the symptoms. When she’s hurting, I’m hurting and it’s indescribable.
    I don’t mean to “dump” this on you, but I feel you’ve become a good friend here and I wanted to share the reason for my break. She’s okay and I’m feeling better, but the break is nice. I don’t have the normal energy to race with the email notifications right now.
    Anyway, take care and see you soon! Hugs!

    1. Oh Lauren, I’m sorry to hear that your daughter’s healthy situation is so complex and worrying. Is there anything we wouldn’t do for our kids’ health?
      Take care of yourself in the midst of it all and be sure to keep in touch here or on email. jx

        1. Lauren, remember that no wo/man is an island. Life isn’t all about putting on a positive front. I fervently believe this and there’s no question of ‘boring people with your troubles’ in my scheme of things! LOL, j

    2. I don’t know you, Lauren, but as one member of our little community, I wish to send you and your daughter positive vibes. It’s torture when our children aren’t well.

  3. Welcome back Jean! And even as a non-dog person I’m sorry for your loss. Clare has kept us up to speed with Waterford coast goings-on – stranded dolphins, ringed gulls, odd cloud formations etc. but we still missed you.

    1. Roy, I was kinda thinking of you when I wrote about non-dog people so I appreciate your sympathies all the more for that.
      Yes, Clare is a wonderful person and blogger. She inspires me! We meet in the most unusual and the most mundane places ~ last weekend it was the supermarket and we had a great chat about precious hats amongst other things. She was wearing a gorgeous one that I wanted to swipe off her flowing locks!
      Hope all’s well with you?

  4. Welcome back Jean! What a gorgeous boy – on the bed already I see! My parents worked in the same business for many years and I think the secret was individual safety valves – he went to the pub on Friday nights, Mum went for long walks

    1. Thanks for the welcome back, Vanessa.
      Oh Stan the Man is digging his way into my heart as only puppies can!
      Thanks for your wise words about marriage partners working together. What happened on the other days and evenings???

  5. Welcome back, Jean. So sorry to hear about Sophie; what a tough sad decision you had to make. I lost my 2 little parakeets recently – Molly (age 8) and Squiggy (age 7 1/2) — and miss them and their little chirps terribly. But welcome to Stan! He will bring much joy and laughter to you.

  6. Jean, sorry about your loss of your dog, and welcome back! It’s quite obvious that, you were missed by your Fans. It appears that your audience has been seating, waiting, then started clapping their hands, as soon as you walked in.

Leave a Reply

