A Month Not Blogging

I just want to let you all know that I’m taking a break from blogging for January.

2013 was a pretty hectic year with my self-imposed undertaking of writing daily for the year on the Gatherings from Ireland Series. And I also did what I could to write posts on other subject areas that are very close to my heart, especially Losing Elderly Parents. 

I grew up with a story about the horses during the French Revolution.  It was said that they worked for ten days without a break and all dropped dead. I’ve no idea how true this is but I certainly think that re-charging batteries is crucially important in life.

So, I’m wondering what the withdrawal symptoms will be like and how it will feel coming back in February.

Wishing you all well for January and thanks again for your support in 2013.

Hasta la vista!

Jean

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

27 thoughts on “A Month Not Blogging”

  1. We all need to re-charge, as you say, Jean, and I hope you have a wonderful break. I took one at the end of 2012 for 3 months and came back refreshed…there will be withdrawal symptoms, though, so be prepared. 🙂 You’ll be missed, but we’ll be here! Love and hugs, Lauren

    1. Hi Lauren, interesting to hear that you took a 3-month break! It certainly is a whole new experience not looking at the world through blogging eyes. Also, great to have a chance to explore the blogoshere and lots of other places too!

      1. It does make a difference, although, mine, in all honesty, was because of receiving some daunting news about our daughter’s health and I couldn’t write…I was virtually paralyzed from doing anything that wasn’t necessary to move forward each day…then I returned in January, after reaching the “acceptance” phase. Now, a year later, we’re back to square one, she’s fine on the surface and we’re really confused, but the dark cloud still looms.Sorry for the long reply…there’s more to it, but I’ll stop here…sincerely, enjoy your break and take time for other things. It did help me return with more enthusiasm and inspiration…xx

        1. Lauren, many thanks for writing and sharing your experience re the blogging break. I’m sorry to hear that the dark cloud still looms and hope that 2014 will bring lots of sunshine in every respect.

  2. I’m glad you are still visiting other blogs during this time period, even if you’re taking a break yourself.
    I’d considered putting a hold on my blogging for January, too, as I’m desperately trying to finish doing the final edit of my novel before submission. I started it on January 1st, 2013, so think that one year is quite enough, but a freelance editor has given me some further work to do on clarifying certain points in my plot where I was being rather too abstruse. It is really giving me a headache, but I know he’s right.
    Thank you for following my blog and I look forward to your return to blogging in February.

    1. Hi Sarah, yes, I think one of the big benefits of not blogging is that it gives time to visit new blogs, like yours!
      I hope your writing goes well. It will be worth it in the end!!

  3. Jean, you certainly deserve this much-needed break, given that, blogging is time-consuming, yet enjoyable. The most important and difficult parts are, keeping audience interested, engaged, which you actually do with ease, Your blogging style has a natural flow, which easily draws interests. As you know, I also try to keep my audience interested, engaged in my photography, and at times, you’d wished more audience would be engaged, with occasional comments and / or Likes, even though they’ve already known appreciation, by liking and / or joining your Blog, Group, Page, or whatever you may be engaging them with. User-engagement is vital, particularly for encouragement purposes. Though, when you’re passionate, this becomes secondary, in terms of such concerns, as you simply want to share the passion, expertise, stories, and / or experiences. By all means, take it easy, get some rest, and we look forward to your comeback. Cheers! 🙂

  4. Rod, lovely to hear from you and thanks for your kind words and good wishes.
    I’ve been loving your photos on Facebook, of late. That one of the hands really captured my imagination. I’d love to do some collaborative work with you on my comeback!

  5. I hope you’re enjoying your break! They always help me for a chance to focus on my novel. I can’t imagine writing a post every day and I can see why you’d start to feel like those horses after a while! Be sure to get lots of relaxing in and time away from the computer and enjoy that ocean!

Leave a Reply

