My Local Shop in Tramore ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 363

Where would you get a pound of butter, if you lived around here? was one of my late father’s regular questions when we’d be driving around in the middle of nowhere.

Those drives and his question flash into my mind almost daily as I walk up to our local Centra shop which is just around the corner. We just call it The Tank because it was originally called The Tankfield Stores  and you know the way you have a tendency as you get a tad older to call shops by the names they had when you got to know them first? 

Hickson's Centra, Tramore, Co. Waterford
Hickson’s Centra, Tramore, Co. Waterford

The Tank is all about ‘gatherings,’ for me. The staff are like old friends;  it’s a place where I’m bound to meet someone I know; a place that has seen me in every conceivable mood; a place where I’ve shared in the highs and lows of community, town, county, national and international life; a place that I’ve seen change hands over the years but somehow retain that sense of being fundamental to my family, neighbours and local community generally. Apart from all that, it’s the landmark that I use to direct people to our house and a place where everyone, local, visitor or passer-by is greeted with a smile.

I suspect most people have a ‘local shop’ of some description ~ and here’s where I hand over to you!

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

6 thoughts on “My Local Shop in Tramore ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 363”

  1. Does it have a security man? Sadly most retail establishments in Dublin seem to have one these days. A reflection on our times.
    Back at the family homestead in Birmingham, to this day the scattering of small shops a couple of hundred yards away is the Near Shops while the suburban shopping centre a mile or so beyond is the Far Shops 🙂

    1. Hi Roy, what an interesting way of describing shops as the Near and the Far!
      While I’m sure that my local has security there isn’t the heavy, visible presence that you talk about in Dublin. You just don’t see that kind of thing in most retail stores, other than the chains, in towns and villages across Ireland as a whole. How is it in Jersey?

      1. No, Jersey’s big stores have covert surveillance only. It shocked me in Dublin actually – small retailers without uniformed security with locked front door, virtually every office has keypad or other electronic entry which is the exception here.

  2. I don’t recall the same uniformed security in Cork. sadly I don’t think Dublin businesses can operate safely without – they wouldn’t pay the extra cost without good reason.

Leave a Reply

