What’s YOUR Most Memorable Blog Post of 2013? ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 361

Blog posts are memorable for all sorts of reasons. For me, anyway there’s always there’s the rationale for writing; ease of writing, circumstances of writing, level of interest shown by readers, comments and where they lead ….. and a whole mixum-gatherum of other things.

Chatting by the Currachs Photo: Frank Tubridy
Chatting by the Currachs
Photo: Frank Tubridy

I was flicking through my archives for 2013 and was surprised at the one that hit me in the solar plexus. It reminded me of  wonderfully articulate man I interviewed as part of the research for my PhD thesis on the experiences of people with physical disabilities in Ireland back in the 1980s. He described a particular day as the day not-yachting and the post that is definitely my most memorable was written on the day not-going to New York. 

I was feeling very sorry for myself as I had been soooooooooooooo looking forward to going to the America to do a writing course but it all became impossible for a host of reasons.

I’ve built up a whole menu of things over the years that I do when the ‘poor me’ train starts to gather speed ~ swimming in the sea, walking, gardening, reading poetry, diving into books of  wit and humour, taking photographs and, of course, writing.

The weather that day wasn’t great or, at least, I was seeing dark skies; I was alone in the house and was generally mooching around. I can vividly remember pulling out boxes and boxes of my late father’s photographs  ( the thought of it alone makes me smile now!) and finding all sorts of  gems than transported me by currach out of my little Mount Misery. (There is such a place in Waterford City!).

So here’s the link to the post, A Journey of a Different Kind,  that certainly wasn’t the most popular one I wrote this year but which drew some lovely responses for which I shall be forever grateful.

http://wp.me/p1ip9d-1ye

So what’s the blog post that YOU wrote in 2013 which is most memorable for you? And, of course, I’d love to know why it’s so memorable!

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

9 thoughts on “What’s YOUR Most Memorable Blog Post of 2013? ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 361”

    1. Van, thanks for a great read. You are so right in what you say! There was one person in my tennis life who used to say to me ‘If you’re best isn’t good enough, you’ll have to do better,’ and it’s stuck with me since I was a kid. The concept of ‘doing your best’ is definitely all tied up with belief and confidence, isn’t it? And, I think it means a huge amount to have a teacher, like your son, who pushes the boundaries of what ‘best’ means in different contexts.

  1. This is one to fave and come back to each time a wallow a little too much in my own skin. I think you’ve given to me a new saying. I hope you do not mind if I use it myself some time? The day of not doing. I love it! ♡

  2. Roy, thanks for posting the links to both these posts. In ways, I’m very surprised that there was such a lack of response to the post about the Stardust fire. However, I think there is a distinct lack of concern in ‘blogland’ about social/political issues that aren’t highly personalised. This seems to me to be about the extremes people are being urged to go in terms of embracing ‘positivity.’ I suspect if you had written about the Stardust as a relative who had lost someone in the fire, it would have been taken up very differently.
    Were you surprised that the writing post attracted such interest compared to the Stardust?

    1. Yes I suppose the disparity is surprising – It’s an interesting (and probably accurate) observation by you as to why this might be. I’ve been blogging longer than most and I started by wanting to get stuff off my chest, not necessarily to have people read it. The Stardust thing is an example of (1) unthinkable suffering and (2) a blatant manipulation of the facts to leave those responsible not only waltzing free but compensated for their inconvenience. I guess I’ll bring this up once more in February.

        1. Since I started writing books I’ve made more of an effort to speak to, and interact with, other like-minded bloggers. It’s been a great experience and very educating.
          Way back in 2002 or something I was simply commentating on the local athletics scene, mainly for my own interest.

Leave a Reply

