The most read Lifesaving Poems of 2013

This is a gem of a post from Anthony Wilson whose blog is one of my very favourites. How I love the concept of ‘Lifesaving Poems!’

Anthony Wilson

IMG_20130303_084426

These are the most read Lifesaving Poems posts of 2013.

 

Mary Oliver, ‘The Journey’

I first read this on Malcolm Doney’s Posterous page, on a blog post about Russell Brand vs Jeremy Paxman round 1.

UA Fanthorpe, ‘Atlas’

I heard this before I read it, in a wedding service. One of the great love poems.

Ted Hughes, ‘Wind’

I first read this in an English exam. It was the first time I remember thinking ‘I could do this for the rest of my life.’

Seamus Heaney, ‘Night Drive’

A low-key triumph: domestic, intimate, sotto voce.

Derek Mahon, ‘Everything is Going to Be All Right’

‘The poems flow from the hand unbidden/and the hidden source is the watchful heart.’

Brendan Kennelly, ‘May the Silence Break’

I read this to a friend in an intensive care unit, knowing she could still hear me.

Tomas Tranströmer, ‘Alone’

One of the great contemporary poems:…

View original post 88 more words

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

Leave a Reply

