Wishing Stones on New Year’s Eve ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 360

It’s quite a few years ago now that our  New Year’s Eve Wishing Stone Ritual  was born. My son and I make our way to Newtown Cove, just outside Tramore, here in Co. Waterford in Ireland.   We each select the most perfect stones we can find and cast them into the sea. Newtown Cove is a magical place ~ high cliffs on either side and the hauntingly beautiful Newtown Wood just behind.

wishing-stones

Such a simple ceremony, but one in which memories of the year just gone and hopes for the next are added to the whispering, or sometimes, roaring, waves.

If you would like me to cast a  Wishing Stone for you, wherever you are in the world, just let me know, either in the comments here or by email: jeantubridy@aol.com You’ll know what that stone carries and the sea will certainly understand.

If this post feels familiar, it is one that I wrote too close to New Year’s Eve last year so I wanted to give a little more notice this time round!

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

4 thoughts on “Wishing Stones on New Year’s Eve ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 360”

  1. Dear Jean, Please cast one wishing stone for me and one for my daughter Maria. Two special goals for 2014! And thank you for your blog posts this year. I look forward to your postings in the New Year. Best, Anne Marie

  2. This is new to me, Jean, but magically beautiful. I’ll send you an email! I hope you had a wonderful Christmas and I wish you a magical, healthy and happy new year, too! Thanks for all your visits to my blog and support, as well! 🙂 Hugs!

Leave a Reply

