To Garrarus with Thanks ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 351

I believe in thanking places that have been  kind to me and Garrarus Beach has been especially kind in 2013. Hardly a day has gone by that I wasn’t out there and, no matter what, it never failed to soothe, energise and empathise with its natural beauty and animated waters.

Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford
Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford

I stole out there this evening when I probably should have been attending to Chrismas catering. It was wild and stormy but utterly majestic and the heart, or is it a harp, in the rock formation kept catching my eye:

How do you thank a beach? You need a language it will understand and I think Garrarus will understand human hands decorating it with colourful stones right beneath the cliffs, where games are played out with the incoming tide.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

4 thoughts on “To Garrarus with Thanks ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 351”

  1. Such a beautiful beach–I should love to live there and visit it every day, too. I love the stones, most especially the red one and the lavender one. Nothing like the smooth glistening wetness of a stone on the beach or in the river.

Leave a Reply

