The Turn of the Year in Tramore ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 347

Today may be the shortest day but down on Tramore Beach this morning, I could feel Percy Bysshe Shelley’s great line from Ode to the West Wind  lightening my step at sunrise:

“If winter comes, can spring be far behind?”

There was a time when I lived just a few miles from magnificent Newgrange in Co. Meath and the significance of December 21 is deeply ingrained in my being. It seems to me to epitomise a deep, deep bond between us and nature.  The tightness of that bond hit me the minute I opened the curtains this morning. The bright yellow blooms of the mahonia in the back garden which have served as beaming lights since early November had disappeared overnight in the vicious storm that raged.

The sun was just coming over Brownstown when I got to the Prom and here’s a glimpse the glory that  lay before me:

Sunrise at Tramore Beach, Co. Waterford
Sunrise at Tramore Beach, Co. Waterford

There was a real sense of the sun lighting up the whole town of  Tramore and it was like witnessing a collective smile  of gratitude and welcome beaming down:

Tramore Town at Sunrise
Tramore Town at Sunrise

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

4 thoughts on “The Turn of the Year in Tramore ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 347”

  1. At least we had a decent sunrise at Newgrange yesterday-and in Tramore. It made the shortest day seem all the more sweet. Here`s to brighter and longer days ahead!

  2. Very nice to see the town like that in sunshine at the break of day. 21st December is meaningful for me too – a few years ago I was at a low ebb around then and I used the longest night as a bit of symbolism to tell myself that things were only going to get brighter from then on. And I got my MC to do likewise in Tess of Portelet Manor 🙂

Leave a Reply

