Honesty ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 342

Sometimes coincidences are more than that ….. The other day I was doing a Wintery tidy up in the garden and started asking myself what I would like to be if I were a flower.

I thought long and hard about this and the major contenders were: Snowdrop, Daffodil and Honesty.  Eventually, I decided on Honesty because of the way in which it offers so much throughout the whole year; those lovely purple flowers in early Summer; translucent pods in Autumn and then sparkling silver in Winter, just when you most need it.

Honesty pic

I was introduced to Honesty, in all senses, by my late Mother. She has to have been the most honest person I’ve  ever known and the Honesty that grows in my garden now came from a cutting from one of the many gardens that she master-minded.

The coincidence associated with Honesty is that it came to the fore recently in one of the Irish blogs, Sunny Spells and Scattered Showers,  that I see  everyday as having a major impact on ways of thinking about depression and mental health generally http://sunnyspellsandscatteredshowers.blogspot.ie/.

From my research work in the field of disability, and especially that with AWARE, I know that there is a huge need to break down barriers associated with the stigmatisation of people with mental illnesses.

Sunny Spells and Scattered Showers tells it how it is with depression ~ but most of all it is defined by honesty, courage and openness. It is a shining light, just like the Honesty that is shining bright in my garden right now.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

9 thoughts on “Honesty ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 342”

  1. I just love this post, Jean. Honesty, or as my mother used to call it the “money plant” because of it’s silvery, coin-shaped seed pods, was a staple in her garden and I remember them fondly as a child. My mother loved unusual flowers and along with these she grew one called “Bells of Ireland” whose flowers were bell-shaped and a light green, and “Chinese lanterns” whose seed pods were a gorgeous orange and dangled like tiny paper lanterns from their stems.

      1. Thank you, Jean and for your comment over there. Much appreciated. I’ve just noticed the deadline for comments is tomorrow (20th) at 9pm GMT, so at least it’s not one of these things which drag on. 🙂

Leave a Reply

