What’s Your View? ~Gatherings from Ireland # 340

I tend to do almost all  my writing in ‘my study,’ which is a rather grand name for the little room upstairs that I fell for the minute I clapped eyes on it 22 years ago.

It wasn’t so much the room, but the view ~ the dangling arms of the Monkey Puzzle tree which is much closer to the house than I’m sure it should be. Deepest green, evergreen, but a tree that also presents me with golden glints, pearly raindrops, tapestries of intricate webs …..

My Monkey Puzzle
My Room with a View

About five years ago, two birds, that I liked to think of as The Love Birds, set up home in the Monkey Puzzle and would sit for hours each day on its prickly branches. I missed them dreadfully when they finally left but they’ve kept returning and this year it seems like we have five generations all partying and singing like mad, before sunrise and after sunset. 

No, I can’t see their cleverly hidden nest/s but I smile as their music has added a whole new dimension of light to the dark hours when I hear this precious tree that never sleeps.

I often wonder about the views which are part of the lives of the millions of bloggers all round the world.  Go on, tell me about yours!

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

15 thoughts on “What’s Your View? ~Gatherings from Ireland # 340”

  1. Lovely indeed. We don’t have those trees in Quebec but I’ve seen them in Vancouver.

    My view from my “study” is my backyard, which, when alll is in bloom is quite lovely – but I must look down to see it! Otherwise, I have my neighbours’ majestic maple that is a stunner in autumn.

      1. It is not bad at all! My mission in the new year is to clean up that room, de-clutter it and make it a nice space to work. For the past 4 months I’ve been working from my couch on a laptop – my chiropractor is not pleased…😀

  2. My office or “study” has a window that faces the street in front of my house. But where I write is often in an attic between two ears. It has windows, too. The view is only limited by my imagination.

  3. Most of my early novel writing was done from a room with a view of distant rooftops, where a landing bird was a distraction. Now I have a beautiful seascape right outside, changing by day and by hour. But as Van ^ says I’m sure it provides no extra inspiration.

  4. Ah Jean, the view is magnificent and I grew up with a monkey puzzle just down the road. It was the only one any one of us had ever seen and a great source of wonder. Now my view is valley and bush, grass and eucalyptus, the occasional fox and quite a lot of ‘roos. Vanessa

  5. I find that a tranquil view of nature is the most inspiring 🙂 My computer is in our unfinished basement, but it sits next to a west-facing window. On the longest day of the year, I can see the setting sun by looking far to the right 🙂 On the shortest day of the year, the sun sinks w-a-y left… Then on my blog, some sunset pics are posted for year-round, indoor viewing pleasure ❤

Leave a Reply

