To Seamus Heaney with Love ~Gatherings from Ireland # 339

I’ve spent the last hour or so reading through The Penguin Book of Irish Poetry (2010) which is edited by Patrick Crotty and my thoughts keep returning to Seamus Heaney whose death has left such an indelible mark on 2013. 

Even though I was flicking backwards and forwards through this tome which stretches way back to before 1200, I found that my fingers were determined to stay on page 738 which is right in the middle of the section devoted to the poetry of Seamus Heaney. I can hear his voice, just as it was that balmy summer night  in 2009 when I heard him read in St. Canice’s Cathedral in Kilkenny.

His passion, humanity and absolute love of words and poetry were so palpable as he poured his heart into reading each poem as if for the very first time. I wonder did he have any concept of his own greatness and the extent to which he touched people with his  brilliance and insight into life’s senses, layers and connectivities?

The lines that keep asking to be read tonight are these from:

A Sofa in the Forties

All of us on the sofa in a line, kneeling

Behind each other, eldest down to youngest,

Elbows going like pistons, for this was a train

 

And between the jamb-wall and the bedroom door

Our speed and distance were inestimable.

First we shunted, then we whistled, then

 

Somebody collected the invisible

For tickets and very gravely punched it

As carriage after carriage under us

 

Moved faster, chooka-chook, the sofa legs

Went giddy and the unreachable ones

Far out on the kitchen floor began to wave.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

2 thoughts on “To Seamus Heaney with Love ~Gatherings from Ireland # 339”

  1. Just lovely, Jean! What fun we all had when there were few toys and no electronics! More fun than any child today, I bet . . . I’ll be looking for more of Heaney’s poetry, now. I hadn’t heard of him, either. Lovely to find more poets to enjoy and it’s sad he is gone this year. Writing for the angels, no doubt . . . ~ Linne

Leave a Reply

