Forbidden Fruit ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 338

I love when people spring surprises and the other day I arrived home to find that my first Christmas present had been hand delivered and was sitting comfortably on the doorstep in the daffodil bulb container that I’d emptied the day before with hope of Spring colour.

A pot of homemade marmalade, labelled tantalisingly with:  Forbidden Fruit Makes Many Jams, R Mc C 2013.

R. Mc C epitomises the saying: Old Friends are Best!  We go back more years than I can even remember with tennis as our lowest common denominator. But this is a man of many parts with arguably more interests than anyone I know. These are interests that span the whole spectrum from sport to travel to the arts, gardening, cooking, debate, conversation, learning, laughing, living, and, as you can see, giving …..

The marmalade is exactly what you’d expect from someone with such a vast range of interests with fruity flavours mingling and holding a tight-roped balance between the sweet and tangy.

I’ve taken to having a generous spoon of it with morning muesli and each day brings fresh thoughts of times shared with R Mc C ~ doing battle in mixed doubles on tennis courts the length and breadth of Munster; driving home at all hours of the morning from a great tennis weekend in Galway and getting a puncture along the way right outside a house with a tennis court; consorting at the Immrama Travel Writers’ Festival in Lismore; receiving  post cards from countries so far flung that they could hardly be found in my atlas; sharing highs and lows of Waterford hurling …..

Forbidden Fruit surely does make many jams … excuse me while I dip into the pot again and contemplate this wisdom as well as the magic of  trusted friendship, courtesy of R. Mc C.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

11 thoughts on “Forbidden Fruit ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 338”

  1. Hi Dale, it’s cool, isn’t it? Just realised that’s the first time I’ve ever used ‘cool’ like this. Must be reading too much ‘foreign stuff.’ Next I’ll be saying ‘awesome!’

  2. ‘Totally awesome’, indeed. LOL I just love that label; it’s so evocative . . . that jam would go well atop a dish of yogourt or my Mum’s ‘pear mousse’, which we are eating daily as that’s what I made with most of a 40 pound box of D’Anjou pears . . . Next year, I’ll have to concoct some ‘forbidden fruits marmalade’ myself . . . thanks for a great idea! ~ Linne

  3. How lovely to get surprise gift on your doorstep! And “forbidden” fruit jam no less! I remember several years ago when I visited my sister in Steilacoum, Washington, we picked the most beautiful, big blackberries from bushes that grew along a fence next to her house. We made the most delicious blackberry jam, the day before I had to leave. I regret I didn’t remember to take some home with me!
    Enjoy your “forbidden” fruit!

  4. I’ll write little about forbidden fruit. I agree with Mark Twain that it is the forbidding that intensifies our desire to have it. As for jams, some more delicious than others, I’ve been in some of those. But to get into a jam has not always occurred with any pre-qualified permission to do so. “Forgive us our trespasses…” Though you might know you’re about to get into a jam, it’s often difficult to read the label clearly while you’re in it.

Leave a Reply

