There’s something about Christmas..

This post from ‘A Silver Voice from Ireland’ has been on my mind since I read it on Friday. It is a real gem which I feel shows both the uniqueness of every Irish household at Christmas, way back when, as well as lots of commonalities. Treat yourselves to a brilliant read!

A SILVER VOICE FROM IRELAND

Christmas! A perfect celebration for those of us in the northern hemisphere, living in the dark days of winter, with long nights and short days, cool and often freezing weather. Some of us resist the tinsel and glitter and hype for as long as we can, but in the last weeks before the big day we too must succumb to the inevitability of it. Last minute cards, last minute Christmas trees, house decorations and gift purchases all add to the excitement!

In December 2012 I made this post about Christmas in our home which I  am reposting here as it epitomizes all that is Christmas, past and present. I hope you enjoy it!

‘There’s something about Christmas. There’s something about it that creeps inside and finds the child in you.’ These are the opening words of the magical  Barry’s Tea ‘Train’ radio commercial. It is back on the airwaves…

View original post 1,860 more words

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

2 thoughts on “There’s something about Christmas..”

  1. That is the most beautiful story from SV and one that I re-blogged last year. I’m the biggest cynic when it comes to Christmas but pieces like this do their best to break me down.

Leave a Reply

