TRAVELLING LIGHT

This post from Pieces of Me is one of the best I have ever read about life and death; grief and grieving; love and loss or should I say ‘loss and love?’

DEAF BISCUITS

 

 

FOOTSBARN

Many years ago I saw Footsbarn, the travelling theatre company, perform Romeo & Juliet in their circus tent. During the show, to represent the sun or moon, characters came on carrying rods from which dangled what looked like round chinese lanterns. At least that is how I remember them though my memory may be faulty. Still it is an image that has come back to me as I have become older and as friends and colleagues have let go of the world.

Grief is a hard thing to deal with and seems to be different every time. It can take time to fit the loss of someone into our knowledge of the world and move on. I have found that I have carried things with me from those who have gone before. Sometimes this happens unconsciously, a laugh is adopted, breaking out of me at the oddest of times…

View original post 196 more words

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

2 thoughts on “TRAVELLING LIGHT”

  1. “… these people live on a little for as long as there are those who remember them, those who carry their light and that’s how I see us in my mind’s eye, as actors on a travelling stage in a circus tent wielding lights, carrying them ahead. Sometimes I smile when I imagine falling down in a heap under the ever-increasing number of lights until it comes time to hand them on …” How poetic. This section particularly resonated with me. A new loss earlier this year has me very aware of the ever-increasing number of lights that I willingly carry, and that one day, I will hand them on. I smile, sometimes through tears, when I think of each of those lights. Thanks for sharing this one Jean. Best, Anne Marie

Leave a Reply

