Parenting (No, I Mean Togetherness) ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 334

‘Parenting’ is one of those words that I find very difficult to use because it seems to have a firm grip on something that I haven’t gotten a hold of yet even though our only ‘child’ has now reached the grand old age of 18.

I sometimes wonder if people get the hang of it after they’ve had three or four kids but then you hear the stuff about Oh they rear themselves! which sounds a bit dodgy too.

Anyway, today was a day on which I felt good about ‘motherhood.’ We ended up out at the beach in Garrarus. The sea was wilder than wild and bluer than blue. Full tide, huge waves and the pair of us with our shared history running along, getting so soaked that eventually it didn’t matter any more.

We laughed together, stared in awe at the sea together, waded into the waves together, pointed at the host of gulls together and hopefully wrote another line or two of that shared history of ours together …..

Son and Sea
Son and Me

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

12 thoughts on “Parenting (No, I Mean Togetherness) ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 334”

  1. That’s the perfect way to spend the day. I’m sure you’ll both be looking back on days like that for years to come. Love your ocean photo too – it does look wild!

  2. Quality time, one for the album and for the future memory that. At 18, if there have been no major disasters I think parents can claim to have made a success of their rearing efforts.

Leave a Reply

