When Buildings Speak ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 323

Ever since I was a kid, I’ve had a mad curiosity about old churches and schools. Mother and I used to go on cycling expeditions and more often than not I would cajole her into giving me a leg up to peer in the windows of some ancient building that had a large ‘NO TRESPASSING’ sign at the gate.

I vividly remember the first time I actually entered the church in Bonmahon here in Co. Waterford. I was absolutely blown away by its lovely wooden beams and what felt like a depth of history.

Bonmahon Church, Co. Waterford
Bonmahon Church, Co. Waterford

Just last week, I drove up there again to see if I could get in to savour that beauty. There was a little plaque on the wall that left me reeling as it unfolded the history of the building in what was a key copper mining village in the nineteenth century:

The fact that this  building has served so many different functions took me totally by surprise and I can’t stop wondering about the thousands of lives it must have touched, in a host of different ways,  in its various incarnations.

The Interior of Bonmahon Church today
The Interior of Bonmahon Church today

I’m now looking at all sorts of buildings and wishing I could hear their stories!

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

6 thoughts on “When Buildings Speak ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 323”

  1. Great to discover the varied and unexpected history. I’m much the same – even those pillars would fascinate me.
    If those walls could talk. I’m presently writing on the subject of an old Irish building with a memory…

  2. I love hearing about things like that and then picturing all the history. Even if the stories don’t come through, it’s fun to imagine them. That’s funny that the Temperance Movement helped improve some things. The pub still sounds like more fun to me but I guess it wouldn’t be all that great to be a miner with a hangover. 🙂

    1. Hi Sheila, from what I can gather it wasn’t all that great being a miner with or without a hangover. There is a great Geopark Centre in Bonmahon now which brings a lot of that era to life.

Leave a Reply

