Calendar Time ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 321

Everything about calendars matters to me and especially the calendar that comes to live in my study for a whole year.

Generally speaking,  I’ve tended to opt for the National Gallery of Ireland’s Calendar or one that’s linked in some way to Impressionist Painting as I crave artistic brilliance and colour.

This year, I broke with tradition and went for the M.I.L.K  Love Calendar. It was the November picture that grabbed me when I flicked through it in the shop and I confess I still haven’t turned to December!

Here’s that winning pic:

True LOVE never grows old Photo: M.I.L.K. LOVE Calendar 2013
True LOVE never grows old
Photo: M.I.L.K. LOVE Calendar 2013

What do you look for in a calendar ~ dates, legibility, a  timely experience or something else I should know about?

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

13 thoughts on “Calendar Time ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 321”

  1. The first for most of us is the uniform agreement of the date. Or it could be just a collection of interesting pictures. Otherwise, it would be no more of use than a mechanical clock that has wound down. It is not as automatic as we might think. Step out of regimen to discover the sameness in the taste today and a day last week. Everything else will be reminders of intersecting agendas usually having to do with events involving other people or other things. Some of us will do better than others without those intersections (appointments) to define how we are to use the time. My scheme is to negotiate with myself about a second cup of coffee.

    1. Hi Van, I really approve of your scheme about the second cuppa. On the sunject of appointments, your response drove me to ring my dentist for an appointment ~ now that’s saying something about the power of response to a blog post AND I had to take a look at the December page. It’s great too, glad to say! Might even post it after the dentist when/if my nerves stop jangling.

  2. I could never leave such a reply as Thevanbrown (I’m not that clever – though I wish I were….)
    So, first off, what a fabulous picture! I, too, would have succumbed..
    I believe in the power of the Law of Attraction so I have bought a “Tuscany” calendar for the past four years ! Last year I almost went (plane tickets were even bought) but my father was too ill for me to feel comfortable about going so I cannot change my theme until then. Once I’ve finally made it there, I shall be putting up a Scotland one! 😉

  3. Dale, yes the Law of Attraction is very interesting. I’d never used it in quite the same way as you seem to, though. Maybe I’ll give that a try!
    What about a Calendar of Ireland to go with the Scotland one???

    1. It’s worth a try, I say!
      And I just KNEW you’d say that!!! I did it on purpose to say only Scotland! 😉 I’ll have to see if I would be willing to combine both regions in one trip….

      1. ‘Willing.’ Now there’s a strange word in this context. Do you know that you can actually SEE Ireland from Scotland. I adore both places but feel if you get as far as Scotland, you just have to step on over here and, at least see the Giant’s Causeway from this side!

        1. True that! I was only saying ‘willing’ because I just don’t ever want to do those “14 countries in 8 day jobbies”. In my twenties, I worked with a guy who would take one month off per summer to visit one country and I have been enamoured with the idea since then. Just have to find a way to do that! Hubby shudders at the thought of leaving his business for that long. Sigh…. may have to wait till he’s semi-retired (because he will NEVER fully retire!) OR, I can go without him! Nah, can’t do that either, he’s dying to visit his forefathers’ land of Scotland as well!

Leave a Reply

