December 1~ Gatherings from Ireland #319

December 1st means just one thing to me. It’s my brother’s birthday. He’s almost three years older than me and we’ve always been extremely close, even though this photo which we both love, may suggest otherwise!

Big Bro and Me
Big Bro and Me

I have no idea if other ‘little sisters’ with a ‘big brother’ continue to ‘look up’ to him throughout their lives. Maybe, I’m just lucky in that my brother sort of took me under his wing from the minute I arrived on the scene.

He was the one who cut my hair when I was two and gave me the fringe that I still sport today. He was my mixed doubles partner in tennis for years and years and we never had a cross word, not once!  It was amazing how we instinctively knew where the other was on the court and it’s also amazing that even when he was totally and utterly injured I could never beat him when we played singles against each other. All he had to do was say, Ah, you have me this time, and I’d hardly get another ball over the net.

When the going has been tough, he has always been there for me. He is a great listener, has a sense of humour that has never failed to make me laugh, and is just plain ‘wise.’

I think everyone would agree that he was Mother’s pet and  she absolutely adored when he came to see her. Even after he got married, he used to come to stay with my parents for the weekend closest to his birthday. I don’t think he ever quite realised how thrilled Mother was when he was around and how  despondent when he would set off on the Sunday evening.

We had a long chat on the phone today. He was his usual self and tonight as I write I feel I’m probably the luckiest ‘little sister’ in the world. Thank goodness, he doesn’t read this blog ….. at least, I’m 99% certain he doesn’t! He would be cringing about a billion miles passed the last ‘g’.

So big brothers everywhere, please realise that you may mean the world to your little sister/s. And ‘little sisters,’ I hope you have been even half as fortunate as I have in the ‘big brother stakes.’

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

4 thoughts on “December 1~ Gatherings from Ireland #319”

  1. What a lovely piece, thanks for this, Jean. We don’t often say publicly how much siblings mean to us. I have two older brothers and a sister, and we’re not particularly close, but I was aware that the brother closest to me in age was my ‘champion’ when I was little, standing up for me to our parents and generally keeping an eye out. He taught me to play chess but I never ever managed to beat him 🙂

    1. Hi Robin, many thanks for writing. It’s interesting, isn’t it, how little we tend to say publicly about sibs. I wonder why!
      I couldn’t but smile about your chess experience.

Leave a Reply

