Happy Thanksgiving ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 316

Ballyscanlon Lake, Co. Waterford
Ballyscanlon Lake, Co. Waterford

Thanksgiving has been on my mind all day and I would like to wish all my American friends and followers every happiness from Ireland.

I wanted to find a poem from Ireland to send your way and a book of W.B. Yeats’ poetry selected by Seamus Heaney fell into my gaze and this is the poem that most wanted to travel:

The Lake Isle Of Innisfree

I WILL arise and go now, and go to Innisfree,
And a small cabin build there, of clay and wattles made:
Nine bean-rows will I have there, a hive for the honeybee,
And live alone in the bee-loud glade.
And I shall have some peace there, for peace comes dropping slow,
Dropping from the veils of the morning to where the cricket sings;
There midnight’s all a glimmer, and noon a purple glow,
And evening full of the linnet’s wings.
I will arise and go now, for always night and day
I hear lake water lapping with low sounds by the shore;
While I stand on the roadway, or on the pavements grey,
I hear it in the deep heart’s core.

William Butler Yeats

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

6 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 316”

  1. I’m not really into poetry at all but there is a few that I like and this one tops my little list, I really like it. Though I did say that about classical music in my young days when I was into rock and roll and country etc but after being to a few clasical concerts I now love it. Its probably an age thing !
    Thanks for that Jean I enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

