Van and Bob ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 315

Festival of Colour, Creativity and Connection
Festival of Colour, Creativity and Connection

I only realised today that Van and Bob came into my life on the same day, October 5th, 2011.

No, I’m not talking about Van Morrison and Bob Dylan. Rather,  I’m referring to two American men who connected with me through the poetry thread that I started on Linkedin back in late September, 2011, and who are  pillars of  ongoing fun, support, sensitivity and sheer friendship.

This pair have been instrumental in introducing me to all sorts of creative works and in deepening my love for others. Van has a huge interest in Mark Twain, who was such a part of my growing up, and he has also sprung the most delicious surprises on the poetry thread, like bringing me to the poetry, as well as the songs, of Leonard Cohen.

Knowing of my love for bridges, Bob sent me this photograph for The Festival of Colour, Creatvity and Connection:

It doesn’t surprise me in the least that it’s a bit surreal as Bob loves to stretch minds and emotions. I reckon this is the teacher coming out in him as well as the multi-layered man that he is.

So with Thanksgiving looming, I want to send special thanks to Van and Bob for lending such colour to my life and for knowing how to make me smile. This is for you!

The world is mud-luscious and puddle-wonderful.

e e cummings

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

4 thoughts on “Van and Bob ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 315”

  1. Humbled by your kind words of gratitude, Jean, for it was you that allowed me on a journey of verse. And it is with a balance we find between mathematics and poetry, according to the philosopher, Dr. Daniel C. Dennett, that philosophy lives. And a kindness as well that you’d couple me in mention with a man who values the importance of learning, Bob Gilvey. But as I reflect upon the kind of rascals we are, I hesitate to award you any prize for being a good judge of character. For it is a flirtacious thing that a man does to cause a girl to giggle, and best as I can tell, you should keep an eye on the both of us, no doubt.

  2. Hi Van, you’ll be pleased to learn that my big brother gave me sound advice when I was first leaving home aged 16! He said to always bear in mind that men between the ages of 14 and 104 should be watched with caution as their intentions might not always be as they appear. He still keeps an eye out for me!

  3. Ah, Jean, a well-deserved tribute to both! I have so enjoyed their contributions and camaraderie on the poetry thread and on Van’s most interesting blog, as well.

Leave a Reply

