November’s Loveliest Smiles ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 313

Festival of Colour, Creativity and Connection
Festival of Colour, Creativity and Connection

I am an avid follower of the hauntingly beautiful blog, A Silver Voice from Ireland http://thesilvervoice.wordpress.com/which is written by Angela Gallagher. I was thrilled when Angela agreed to submit ‘something’ to my Festival of Colour, Creativity and Connection and was like a child waiting to see what would arrive, as this is a woman with a wide range of interests but, most of all, a warmth and exquisite way of describing places, events, emotions, memories ….

I just love the multi-layered offering that arrived ~ one which shows how colour, creativity and connection are inextricably interwoven.

Hi Jean. I just love these crab apples as they bring me back across the decades to my teens. On my first trip to England we went to visit my aunt, a nun who had entered in 1935 but at that time was not ever allowed to come home.

We took afternoon tea in the beautiful convent in the heart of Ashdown Forest in Sussex.

On the walls were several prints by an artist Margaret W. Tarrant. These were of Fairies partying in the woods and I recall the beautiful little colourful crab apples in the exquisitely detailed paintings. I have found some of her work on the internet, but never discovered those exact prints, that hung in the visitors parlour of that beautiful place ( now a 5 Star hotel)

The pictures ( possibly not prints at all, but originals) were all ‘Fairies of the Forest ‘ – one was entitled Harvest Home and another was the Fairy Wedding. I would love to have them, but am very happy to recall them and that different time and place when admiring my crab apples. So I am transported from Limerick to Ashdown Forest, East Sussex at this time every year by these beautiful little fruits.

Crab Apples Photo: Angela Gallagher
Crab Apples
Photo: Angela Gallagher

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

2 thoughts on “November’s Loveliest Smiles ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 313”

  1. Thank you, Jean! As I read Angela’s message, I felt as though I’d been to Sussex for afternoon tea, as well. And Angela, thank you for sharing that memory and information on multiple subjects that are of interest to me – art, architecture and history. You painted a vivid picture with your words! Kind regards, Anne Marie

Leave a Reply

