Sunday Morning Connections ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 312

Festival of Colour, Creativity and Connection
Festival of Colour, Creativity and Connection

I’ve been rather surprised that no one has submitted a song or, indeed music,  of any description to the Festival of Colour, Creativity and Connection here on Social Bridge over the last few weeks.

Songs are all about connections to me and  ever since I mentioned Kris Kristofferson at the weekend that Winter-time started here in Ireland https://socialbridge.wordpress.com/2013/10/27/winter-time-and-the-livin-is-easy-gatherings-from-ireland-287/, he’s been more and more on my mind.

Kris Kristofferson brings me back to my teenage years in the 1970s and, most of all, I associate him with sitting on an oil heater in the drawing-room of the Bank House in Drogheda, playing his Greatest Hits, over and over and over and … again.

Listening back to the songs over the last week or so, they make me feel like Kris Kristofferson  was my introduction to the roller-coaster of emotions that are associated with  growing up, loving, leaving, losing, living …..

I must have played Me and Bobby McGee a million times visualising myself in that van with the wind-shield wipers slappin’ time … and contemplating the words: Freedom’s just another word for nothin’ left to lose …

I don’t think there’s been a Sunday morning since those teenage days that I haven’t had thought of  Sunday Morning Coming Down. More than anywhere, it hit me when I ventured out on my first day in America – San Francisco  ~ a Sunday, January 2, in 1983.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vbqGWTxwZEA

I’d love to hear what songs/music have extra-special connections for you?

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

8 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Connections ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 312”

  1. Coincidentally, I was using this song in class last week to illustrate something. I remember the first time I heard Kris, sitting on the steps of my garage apartment while I was in college, thinking his deep gravelly voice was unlike anything I had ever heard before.

  2. I love Kris Kristofferson (I have to admit my first “encounter” with him was in the movie A Star is Born)! Funny considering my mother is a huge country music fan so it was always playing in our house (we knew she was ironing because we could hear the music from the corner!) Thanks for this link…

    That said, I’ve been trying to think of what one song and there are so many, let’s just say that country music (the old stuff) brings me right back home!

  3. One of my earliest memories was my mother singing ‘White Cliffs of Dover’ whilst doing her household chores. She had to change her playlist for a while as I always used to burst into sobs at the line ‘And Jimmy will go to sleep in his own little room again.’ But surely this song can’t be beaten as the ultimate encouragement to ‘our boys’ to fight to the end for the (somewhat idealised) country where they had left family and friends.

  4. Hi Roy, strange you should mention The White Cliffs of Dover here and your response to it. I vividly remember being at a concert in Dublin with my parents when I was very young and hearing the White Cliffs for the first time and seeing my mother’s tears. I didn’t understand then why she was so affected by it but I certainly do now. It certainly is a highly emotive song.

Leave a Reply

