Winter Woollies ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 308

Festival of Colour, Creativity and Connection
Festival of Colour, Creativity and Connection

I rank today as the coldest day of November, here in Tramore anyway, and while out walking on the beach I was noticing how everyone was all wrapped up in thick jackets, hats, scarves, gloves ….. the lot!  It brought me back to the days of my childhood when the ‘winter woollies’ were produced out of drawers lined with brown paper and a scattering of dried lavender.  Layers and layers of clothes and the inevitable white vest. I still don’t know why vests were always white!

This memory of dull white vests has been completely overturned this year by Lauren Scott’s contribution to the Festival of Colour, Creativity and Connection which brings a blast of warm, vibrant colours and not a trace of white or yellowy-white!

Lauren, who is from Northern California is one of my ‘must-read’ bloggers as she writes mind and heart-bending poetry. Check out her blog at http://lscotthoughts.com/

Here’s the timely haiku and photo which Lauren sent:

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

2 thoughts on “Winter Woollies ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 308”

  1. Thanks so much, Jean! I love how you turn winter woolies into warm and vibrant, very clever! And thanks for your very kind words about my blog, too! I’ve enjoyed getting to know you, as well, and reading about your Irish memories, which have allowed me to travel there, if only in my imagination…sending hugs for a happy day!

Leave a Reply

