Toys with Connection ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 306

Festival of Colour, Creativity and Connection
Festival of Colour, Creativity and Connection

I had an absolute passion for kaleidoscopes as a child and it’s only now that I’ve learned that they were invented in 1817 in Scotland by Sir David Brewster. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kaleidoscope.

I spent hours and hours just marvelling at the different shapes and colours that would appear with the mere turn of the dial at the top of the many kaleidoscopes that passed through my young hands. I wish I had one here now!

I got thinking about kaleidoscopes the other day as I was twirling around taking photographs of  trees and foliage as they played in the November light.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When I got into these thoughts of toys with connection and colour, I began to think about spinning tops and, of course, my red scooter that still lives in the garden shed! What toys have special meaning for you and connect you to your childhood?

Should you wish to join in my Festival of Colour, Creativity and Connection which I’m hosting here for the month of November, please email me at jeantubridy@aol.com. It’s all about adding warmth and colour to what can be the darkness of this wintery month!

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

11 thoughts on “Toys with Connection ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 306”

      1. Perceptions, changes, looking at things differently, often with a bounce that comes from poets, so the reference to a different time using the metaphor of the kaleidoscope:

        1. Van, thanks so much for reminding me of ‘Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds,’ which was part of my childhood through my big sister who was a real Beatles fan. Funny how one tends to take song lyrics for granted, especially those that have been there for one’s forever.

  1. Hey Roy, I was a gryoscope addict as well! Looking at the YouTube clip made me realise that I didn’t get the full magic so I think I’ll have to go find one somewhere. I wonder are they still around?

Leave a Reply

