A Memory Bridge ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 301

Festival of Colour, Creativity and Connection
Festival of Colour, Creativity and Connection

Three years ago, this week, I was in Washington D.C. and one of my reasons for going out there was to get to know more about the inspirational Memory Bridge Foundation http://www.memorybridge.org/, which challenges everyday perceptions of Alzheimer’s Disease and dementia. In short, it focusses, not on what has been lost, but on the extent to which we can maintain connections with people with Alzheimers Disease and other dementias. This is something which resonates hugely with me from my personal experiences with loved ones here in Ireland.

I had already been in contact with the founder, Michael Verde, and he suggested that I meet with a fellow sociologist, Carla Borden, who is a key member of the Memory Bridge Board and based in Washington.

I was rather nervous at the prospect of meeting Carla but the very second I saw her, especially her eyes,  I knew that she was a woman with heart, soul, warmth, depth and vision.

We have remained firm friends and when she sent me two photographs of  November tints that she took last weekend at Audubon Naturalist Society Woodend Sanctuary in Chevy Chase, Maryland, I knew I just had to add them to my Festival of Colour, Creativity and Connection. 

Carla and The Memory Bridge Foundation represent Colour, Creativity and Connection in very profound ways and I strongly suspect that the Memory Bridge approach to Alzheimer’s Disease and other Dementias will become the accepted approach over the next decade.

So I post these photographs with warm memories, smiling eyes and passionate hope:

Photo: Carla Borden
Photo: Carla Borden
Photo: Carla Borden
Photo: Carla Borden

Should you wish to participate in my Festival of Colour, Creativity and Connection which I am hosting here on Social Bridge for the month of Novemebr, I would be delighted to receive prose, poems, photographs, artwork, music ….. anything that says Colour, Creativity or Connection to you.   Just email me at: jeantubridy@aol.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

Leave a Reply

