A Festival of Colour ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 299

Festival of Colour, Creativity and Connection
Festival of Colour, Creativity and Connection

The Festival of Colour, Creativity and Connection which I’m hosting here on Social Bridge to brighten November continues to deliver warmth and surprises from all round the world. I have been a following Susan on www.suzassippi.blogspot.com for some time and was thrilled to receive this email and photograph from her.

I hope you enjoy her contribution as much as I have and feel the extent to which she is in touch with colour in every sense.
Hello  Jean,
 I love your idea of the fall festival of colour.  I am sending one of my recent photographs that says to me it is a festival of colour—I took it on the first day of November this year, on what was actually a lovely fall day with sunshine and blue skies.  What I like about this photograph is the subject, as well as the play of light and colour, but inclusion of all those neutral and drab, but full of texture, tones of browns and shadows amongst the light.
The building is a community house in Pontotoc, Mississippi, and was built in 1935 through President Roosevelt’s New Deal Administration, specifically, the Emergency Relief Administration which put unemployed people to work to the benefit of the community.  When I first read your post about the festival, and then later was preparing my photographs for some research, this one jumped out at me—so here it is…
Fall Festival of Colour Photo: Susan Allen
Fall Festival of Colour
Photo: Susan Allen

I hope that this wonderful photograph will inspire you to participate in the Festival and share a photograph, poem, prose, song, sketch … anything which speaks to you of Colour, Creativity and Connection.  Please send your submissions to me at jeantubridy@aol.com. I look forward to sharing them.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

6 thoughts on “A Festival of Colour ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 299”

  1. Thank you for sharing the story and the photo. I love the creativity and connection of your bridges, and how often those of us in differing places can experience similar thoughts, emotions, and experiences. I look forward to seeing what’s next!

  2. The pleasure is all mine, Suz.
    It is remarkable alright how physical distance is not the huge issue that it once was, or maybe it wasn’t even back then between kindred spirits who could write letters!

Leave a Reply

