What is Creativity Anyway? ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 296

Festival of Colour, Creativity and Connection
Festival of Colour, Creativity and Connection

The contributions that are flowing in to my Festival of Colour, Creativity and Connection have been bringing me to places and thoughts that have only ever simmered under the surface.

One of the most thought-provoking emails came from Dale Rogerson who lives in Montreal and whose lovely blog is the well-named  http://www.dalesdelectables.org

Dale sent me a photograph of a de-commissioned railway bridge in the Griffintown area of Montreal.

Photo: Dale Rogerson

The minute I saw the poignant image of what appears like ‘disconnect,’ I felt a really strong sense of connection as the bridge reminded me of the dismantled railway line between Tramore and Waterford and the wealth of history and heritage that is associated with it.

Towards the end of her email, Dale raised a very interesting point about creativity:

I am in the process of building up my own little business - catering, making birthday cakes, teaching others to cook.... Imagine, I used to think I was not creative because I couldn't draw or paint like my father did! I didn't associate my baking and cooking with being creative! 

I’m wondering now how many of us have limited views about creativity and judge ourselves against a highly specific interpretation of  what ‘creativity’ is all about. I know I’ve always had a tendency to see creativity in terms of activities like needlework and embroidery which bring me back to horrors of never getting passed beginner’s darning when everyone else was making dainty blouses and summer dresses!

Having read Dale’s comment, I’m now beginning to think that there’s no end to what creativity can mean.  Whoever designed that railway bridge in Montreal certainly had a  creative spirit!

I’d love to hear your views on what Creativity means to you and also to receive YOUR contributions to this Festival of Colour, Creativity and Connection. Just email me at jeantubridy@aol.com if you would like to join in.

(Oh and how I wish I was creative enough to design a Logo for the Festival!)

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

8 thoughts on “What is Creativity Anyway? ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 296”

  1. So is art a form of discovery, or is it an act of creation? If there are rules, is it possible that it be completely innovative in thought? Or, does it imitate some other cognitive process that has gone on before? If I would be clever, are there elements of humor I wish to draw from, or is it possible that laughter was generated as a result of something entirely original? These are just some questions for thought. I do have some opinions, but your’s are more important.

    In a similar conversation recently, a friend said it was if I’d asked whether the chicken or the egg came first. But it’s not that at all. That question is simple, because no bird ever changed into a chicken after it was born something else. If the final mutation(if there be such a thing) did not exist in either the mother or father, it had to have occurred with the combination of them in the egg. But if humans can create, are they the only animals that can? And whether they are or not, why do they do it? But this is a festivity of color, so I’ll pick a nice pastel blue to match the sky on a clear day with no memories at all.

    1. Van, thanks for this interesting comment. I reckon that there’s little that is truly original, on the one hand, but the uniqueness of each individual means that creativity can be generated out of even the most well-worn paths and themes. Certainly food for thought!

  2. Nice thoughtful post. I have always loved this quote. “Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.”
    ― Albert Einstein

  3. Thanks for sharing my photo and words, Jean! I’m touched and honoured.
    Thevanbrown – I had to read your comment twice. It really had me thinking! Thanks for that too.
    Sandy – the first time I read this quote, it was like an ‘ah-ha!’ moment for me.

    1. Dale, I am delighted to have had the opportunity to share your photo and fascinating words. I really appreciate you taking part in this Festival and for your support of Social Bridge generally.

    2. Dale, you read my comment twice? I’m honored. Other than myself, I’m not aware of other folks who’d read anything I write twice. And if you were also prompted to think, then I’ve had a very good day. Thank you so much.

Leave a Reply

