Land of Enchantment ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 295

Festival of Colour, Creativity and Connection
Festival of Colour, Creativity and Connection

I happened to toss my towel on the rocks at Garrarus Beach here in Co. Waterford the other evening when I arrived for my first November swim and this is how it fell:

The Irish coast, and especially that of Co. Waterford, is my place. 

Garrarus Beach at Sunset

And, let me say that the water was warm and warmest along that shimmering bridge to the horizon.

Where’s your Land of Enchantment?

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

11 thoughts on “Land of Enchantment ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 295”

  1. How fabulous is it that you can still swim in November?

    Hmmm… my land of enchantment? Good question! At this time I do not have a particular spot in mind… I think it’s more of a “wherever I am, when I can be alone to contemplate type of place” – as it was when I went out to the Lachine Canal two Sunday’s ago… Or when I hike up the old Fire Lookout near my mother’s place on my own.

    1. Dale, that’s a very interesting view on your land of enchantment ~ the being alone and able ‘to contemplate type of place.’ I’d never thought of it like that before but it definitely resonates!

      1. I guess in the busyness of everyday life, it’s nice to just nice to disconnect – where that happens, be it by the sea in November or climbing a mountain, or sitting on one’s back porch.
        Ugh! I just saw I wrote Sunday’s instead of Sundays…. ach! and me, the Grammar Nazi in my house!

  2. I suppose I’ve never felt more ‘other worldly’ than at the deserted village on Slievemore, Achill with the low cloud swirling around. Definitely a place of ghosts and faeries.

    1. Roy, you’ve also brought up another dimension of ‘enchantment’ with the notion of ‘other worldly.’ That’s not something I’d thought about either! I can imagine that a deserted village would have that effect alright. I’d love to get back to Achill somehow!

  3. I`m a solstice fan and can feel all of the enchantment of the other world when the sun is at its lowest, and, especially, at any of our Neolithic burial sites.
    Lovely pic. Though I`m still not tempted to sea swim at this time of the year.

    1. Hi RH, yes the solstice is definitely enchanting and I agree wholeheartedly about the ‘other-worldliness’ of our Neolithic burial sites. We’re so lucky to have so many here in Ireland.

  4. Its Garrarus for me. I suppose the fact that I live here might have some bearing on that.
    Interesting the way your towel fell though.
    The second strand up from Garrarus towards Kilfarrassey is called Tra Na Gaoithe,( not sure if my spelling is correct here) which loosely translated means ‘Strand of The Enchanted Mist’
    So an old neighbour who is no longer with us told me many years ago!
    What a name for a strand that is very difficult to get to.

    1. Liam, what a coincidence about the ‘Strand of the Enchanted Mist.’ It’s quite amazing! I’d have thought that ‘gaoithe’ was more to do with the wind but I want to believe your former neighbour, that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

