Unbuttoning Time ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 290

I was mooching around the shops in Waterford over the weekend and felt the years falling off me when I spotted a rail of duffle coats or should I say jackets?

As a teenager, I more or less lived in a dark navy duffle coat and, from conversations with both men and women, I gather almost everyone has had a coat which was extra-special to them. It seems to be less about fashion and style than the emotional state/s associated with that one coat which invariably leaves an indelible mark on a life.

Here I am in the precious duffle coat walking on lovely Baltray Beach in Co. Louth which has a glorious view of the Mourne Mountains.

I’d love to hear about the coat in your life!

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

12 thoughts on “Unbuttoning Time ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 290”

  1. Dang! I kinda wish I had THE coat to remember! Kind of like Sandra Bullock in “While You Were Sleeping” – she wears her father’s coat to keep him close to her as she has lost him…. I’ll be going through my father’s things soon and am hoping to at least get a sweater….

    1. DD, yet another film I haven’t seen! I wish you well in going through your father’s things. Not the easiest process, or at least, I didn’t find it easy. However, it did bring back lots of memories from years and years ago and I took a few of his jackets which I wear out in the wilds ~ places that he and I enjoyed greatly.

  2. I bought an expensive denim Levi jacket when I was about 20. I had it forever, always seemed to fit and was the perfect casual thing to throw on most of the time. I didn’t throw it away but I no longer have it. I suspect it’s with some other stuff under a friend’s bed in Cork…

    1. Hi Roy, oh the Levi demin jackets really cut a dash! I’d love to get a look under your friend’s bed in Cork. I think it’s a great pity that most modern beds don”t have underneaths, apart from the occasional drawer.

  3. Duffle coats must be the flint to reignite the
    Memories of the 60s. My memory is of my
    Camel colour duffle cost with red/green check
    Lining and it cost 49/11 (2.19.11) in 1965.
    Ordered from The Sunday Press.

  4. Sadly, I don’t have a memorable coat to tell you about, Jean, but I enjoyed your post and I also love Dale’s comment about Sandra Bullock wearing her father’s coat in one of my favorite movies!

  5. Jean, I had a wonderful Navy Pea Coat that I purchased in an Army/Navy surplus store in the early seventies. I wore it religiously and loved it for its warmth and the high, wide collar that could be flipped up against the wind. I do wish I still had it!

Leave a Reply

