Hook Lighthouse ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 289

There are tourist attractions and there are Tourist Attractions. Hook Lighthouse, which is 800 years old and the  oldest intact operational lighthouse in the world   is my idea of the real deal. http://hookheritage.ie/

Hook Lighthouse, Co. Wexford.
Hook Lighthouse, Co. Wexford.

I was back there again yesterday and, yes, I went on the Tour of Lighthouse for what must be at least the tenth time in ten years. I just can’t get enough of the history of this amazing place and am like a child craving to hear a favourite bedtime story ‘ just one more last time.’ 

Jeff  Barry, our tour guide, was just brilliant. He lives locally and clearly has a deep love of the lighthouse. I just loved the way he talked about the how he misses the foghorn, dreary though it sounded, which has now been de-commissioned.

Jeff Barry, Tour Guide at Hook Lighthouse.
Jeff Barry, Tour Guide at Hook Lighthouse.

I’m determined that next Halloween I will find a brave youngster and have the perfect excuse to go on a Scary Tour of  The Hook. Now that would be magic!

Preparations for the 'Scary Tour' at Hook Lighthouse.
Preparations for the ‘Scary Tour’ at Hook Lighthouse.

What tourist attraction keeps drawing YOU back?

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

11 thoughts on “Hook Lighthouse ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 289”

  1. I’m going to cheat and choose three places. One here in Blighty, one in my beloved Ireland and one abroad. (Okay, I know Ireland is technically abroad for me, but it’s the longest I’ve lived anywhere – so it’s my home.) In Blighty, I’d recommend a visit to Haworth – home of the Brontës’. Quaint, cobbled village with a Brontë Museum and the Wuthering Heights of the Yorkshire Moors. In Ireland, oooh, so many to choose from. Love Connemara, love Kerry and West Cork. But I think I’m going to have to plumb for Carlingford Lough, just shy of the border. Medieval village, a castle, great pubs/restaurants, (damn, now I’ve remembered Kinsale), oh well. Abroad- pretty much anywhere in France. Oh, and Rome. And Ubud in Bali. I’ll get my coat.

  2. Hey David, I’m getting my coat too! I absolutely love Carlingford, too ~ more so than Kinsale.
    Bursting to get to Haworth. It sounds like a real gem. As for ‘abroad,’ I’d chance Ubud on your say-so!!!

  3. Wow – 800 years is a long time for a lighthouse to be standing! It’s funny – we think we have historical places here but really not at all compared to Ireland. It looks like a great place for a haunted tour. After all those years, there must be lots of spirits around.

  4. Hi Sheila, yes, the very fact of it being so old adds to its wonder. It’s hard to even understand how it could have survived that long especially as it is in such an exposed position being battered by gales, salt water and the like.

Leave a Reply

