Granny’s Gingerbread at Last! ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 288

There’s times when the rewards of blogging are overwhelming and ignite or re-ignite the apparently impossible. Well today, that’s happened for me!

In short,  a second cousin of mine, whom I haven’t seen for about 40 years, responded to my Twitter link on the recent post about Ways of Coping with Winter and my question about how YOU embrace Winter Time http://wp.me/p1ip9d-24y.

She responded with just one word Gingerbread. This had me back on a Sunday of my very early childhood when Dad had brought the others to a circus but left me at home with Mother because I was a bit under the weather. Understanding my bitter disappointment, Mother announced that we would make Gingerbread Men. I had the lovely task of cutting out the men with the ancient tin cutter that she had got from her mother, Jean.  I was thrilled to bits that I hadn’t gone to the circus, such was the warmth and comfort in this joint cooking and eating!

I tweeted Cuz back with ‘What about Gingerbread Men?’  and she responded almost immediately with this:

One of my earliest memories is of  licking the pot after making (great) Aunt Jean’s ginger bread. I still use the same recipe!

Granny Jean or (great) Aunt Jean
Granny Jean or (great) Aunt Jean

The old scrapbook in which my mother kept her precious family recipes, many of which were written in pencil, has pretty much fallen apart and I thought they were lost forever. But, today Gingerbread has been restored and, I agree with Cousin Johann than it is a great way of embracing Winter! Here’s the recipe that I was so thrilled to see in my Inbox today. Give it a try and think of  happy memories,  everlasting hope, and family connections while you’re at it!

Great Aunt Jean’s Gingerbread
1 1/2 oz butter
1tbs golden syrup
1tbs treacle 
5floz milk
6oz plain flour
1/2 tsp bread soda
1tsp ground ginger
2oz brown sugar
1 egg beaten
 
Heat the oven to 170˚C, GM 3 and line a 9 inch square cake tin.
Melt the butter, golden syrup, treacle and milk in a sauce pan. Mix the dry ingredients and add to the saucepan, then the egg. Pour into the prepared tin and bake for half an hour.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

4 thoughts on “Granny’s Gingerbread at Last! ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 288”

Leave a Reply

