Do you Think in Poetry? ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 283

I’m wondering how many people think in poetry? I can find no better way to pose the question but I suspect that if you do it will be like recognizing yourself in one of those job adverts that asks for something that’s like a foreign language to most.

Poems and lines of poetry have always been part of my thinking and way of communicating. The thinking bit is fine but when it comes to the communicating, I feel I have to be pretty sure that I’m dealing with  kindred spirits.

Just a glance at a budding miniature rose by the kitchen sink a few minutes a ago had me thinking of Robert Herrick’s:

Gather ye rosebuds while ye may,
Old Time is still a-flying …

So, am I alone and palely loitering or …..?

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

10 thoughts on “Do you Think in Poetry? ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 283”

  1. Great new look for the blog, congratulations.
    …..And oftentimes when I am in a pensive mood-
    I think in poetry. It is cool and foggy this October morning in Portland – a season of mist and mellow fruitfulness.
    I suppose it comes from all the poetry we had to memorize in school. Both my parents quoted poetry-I’m often surprised by the lines that pop into my head.

    1. Hi Celtic, ah yes, you sound like you’re in my camp alright! In my case, I’ve no doubt it came from my mother who definitely thought in poetry and she and I communicated in it all the time.
      I’m glad you like the new look blog!

  2. I love reading poetic writing and after a while of that, you can’t help but think in it. Sometimes when I’m writing I’ll end up rhyming even when I don’t want to. 🙂

    1. Sheila, interesting perspective. The rhyming affliction hasn’t hit me in writing yet but I’m always tempted to find words that rhyme with people’s names. Not such a great idea to reveal the possibilities, especially when in school way back then!

Leave a Reply

