Are You a Promenading Person ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 279

I love the word promenade which originates from the 16th Century and is derived from the French reflexive verb se promener. As the Oxford English Dictionary highlights, promenade has layers of meaning.

As a noun, it is a paved public walk, typically one along the seafront at a resort as well as being a leisurely walk, or sometimes a ride or a drive, taken in a public place so as to meet or be seen by others. 

And as a verb, it means, among other things,  to take a leisurely public walk, ride or drive so as to meet or be seen by others ….

I suppose my passion for promenades, in all senses, comes from the fact that we have a wonderful Prom here in Tramore which yields fantastic views of the Bay as well as the town. It was built in 1914 and I often wonder how many hundreds of thousands of people from all round the world have walked, driven, ridden along it over the last century and what memories and secrets it holds.

Here’s the view I had from it as I walked along it at sunset this evening.

The Prom, Tramore, Co. Waterford
The Prom, Tramore, Co. Waterford

Other Irish promenades that really appeal to me are those in Bray, Co. Wicklow and Salthill, Co. Galway. Outside of Ireland, my choices would have to be the Promenades in Jersey and Aberdeen.

Are you a promenade person and which ones are your favourites?

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

6 thoughts on “Are You a Promenading Person ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 279”

  1. Bray, Salthill – I can only agree. Cobh looking out to Spike Island is probably my favourite in Ireland. As a child the word promenade meant Blackpool, candy floss and amusement arcades on the (three) piers.
    In Jersey the Esplanade leads out onto Victoria Avenue, where I’ve just been running with my group. It’s indeed a beautiful prom though it’s not called that.
    Tramore I’ve yet to visit – one day.

    1. Roy, yes Cobh is magnificent. I especially love the bandstand that has such elegance.
      I’ll have to go in search of the difference between an Esplanade and a Promenade and you certainly will have to visit Tramore sooner rather than later!

  2. The Brooklyn Heights Promenade (or Esplanade) is just a few blocks from my apartment here in NYC. It’s about 1/3 of a mile long, built over the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway. It offers spectacular views of the Brooklyn Bridge, Manhattan and its skyline, NY harbor and the mouth of the Hudson River. The Statue of Liberty is in the distance, with New Jersey behind her and Ellis Island just to her north. On summer evenings, one can watch spectacular sunsets while eating ice cream cones purchased from the local Mr. Softee truck. Late on Sundays, the cruises ships pass by on their way to ports unknown. You can sit and read a book, or jog, or ride a bike. It’s a place for community events, too, like the annual doggie Halloween Parade (prizes for the best costumes). On Sept 11, 2001, it was a place for mourning as people gathered after the terrorist attacks staring in horror at the burning remains of the twin towers across the river. You’ve probably seen The Promenade, as it is the location for many scenes in movies and TV shows; if not, and you’d like a photo, let me know and I’ll send one on.

    Like the new look!

    Joanne

  3. Oh Joanne, thanks for such a wonderful description of the Brooklyn Heights Promenade. It sounds a real gem. I would absolutely love a photo, especially one of the view of Brooklyn Bridge to post here on Social Bridge! Thanks soooooooo much for the offer. My email is jeantubridy@aol.com.

Leave a Reply

