My Birthday Weekend ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 277

Birthday Card from Big Bro!

Given that my birthday is falling on a Friday this year, I’ve decided to make a weekend of it. Yes, today, is the big day and one that I’m delighted to share with two of my all time idols ~ Chuck Berry and Martina Navratilova.

Birthdays were hugely significant events in our house when we were kids, undoubtedly because Mother placed great emphasis on them. It was only when I had my own son in 1995 that I realised the extent to which a child’s birthday is a day that a mother is unlikely ever to forget and hopefully likely always to celebrate.

Mother has been very much on my mind this week and I can only smile when I think of the last birthday we shared on this day in 2008. I always hated birthday parties but in 2008 Mother decided it was time to put an end to this and organised a surprise party for me. I really felt I could read her every thought at that stage but she caught me out totally and I landed into a party in full swing which I have to admit I enjoyed immensely.

There is a helluva storm blowing here in Tramore today but I just couldn’t resist the temptation to go for an early walk around the beach. The rain and wind were blowing furiously into my face on the outward journey and if ever there was ‘living in the moment,’ this was it. I almost flew home and couldn’t but think of these lines from a traditional Irish Blessing:

May the road rise to meet you
May the wind be always at your back
May the sun shine warm upon your face
The rains fall soft upon your fields …..

Thus far, it’s been the walk on the beach, a long steamy bath, lunch of mackerel with spinach and grated nutmeg, and cosy dessert of hot juiced apples with cinnamon; a quick trip into Waterford to my mecca of Irish produce ~ Ardkeen Stores ~ and a visit to Amazon to download recent books of two of my favourite bloggers for weekend reading ~ Roy McCarthy’s (http://backontherock.com/Tess of Portelet Manor and David Millington Croft’s (http://thereisnocavalry.wordpress.com/Love is Blood. 

Birthdays, for me,  are all about remembering, sharing, enjoying, plotting, planting, smiling, creating memories ….. What do they mean to you?

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

25 thoughts on “My Birthday Weekend ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 277”

      1. Wow! Did you buy a copy? Thank you, if you did. Hmm, not sure. Depends whether you like your romance a bit on the racy side! 🙂 Though, it isn’t gratuitous. Just a natural unfolding of the story. I’d really value your feedback when you’ve read it. Have a great birthday.

  1. May there be a modest but appropriate number of happiness elves to appear out of nowhere to dance and sing in a delightful manner. May they each bring a tasty treat that is delicious yet healthy, as well as some valuable piece of treasure. May you giggle, laugh and sing at a level just short of a loudness that would cause neighbors two blocks away to call 911. But most of all, may you have the kinds of thoughts most extraordinary and splendidly gratifying, with the added pleasure of knowing you don’t have to explain the silly grin on your face to a living soul, lest they blush. Mercy Jean!

  2. Happy Birthday, Jean! It sounds like you’re having a wonderful celebration and I love that Irish Blessing; it’s one of my favorites! I hope you continue to enjoy and celebrate throughout the weekend, even in the stormy weather! xx

  3. Happy Birthday Jean! I enjoy your postings every day but haven’t sent a reply until now. Today is the 13th anniversary of the day that I brought my daughter home from her country of birth. The day our mother/daughter journey started … a birthday of sorts for us, too! Enjoy and all the best to you in your New Year!

    1. Hi Anne-Marie, I am so pleased that you wrote on this day of days! I hope you have a wonderful mother/daughter weekend ….. year ….. New Year…..
      October 18 is very special alright!!

  4. Happy Birthday, hope you have some nice wine chilled. Your posts always bring a smile….sometimes a tear. all are wonderfully written and I look forward to word from HOME every day.

  5. Happy birthday Jean, have a great weekend. Personally though I’ve taken not the least interest in birthdays since my 21st which ended rather messily in Birmingham city centre 😦 And I’m totally honoured you’ve bought Tess 🙂

Leave a Reply

