Fire in my Head over Budget 2013 ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 276

The sociologist in me was in absolute overdrive yesterday as I listened to the realities of aspects of Budget 2013, especially on older people and those with chronic illnesses. The crunch point came when I heard a man on RTE’s Liveline talking to Joe Duffy about his particular situation.

He was phoning from hospital where is receiving treatment for Cystic Fibrosis and he spoke with passion and eloquence about how the Budget was going to affect him and his elderly mother with whom he lives. He highlighted a whole host of apparently ‘small’ cuts, like the increase in prescription charges, the abolition of the telephone allowance … and pointed to the additional stress and worry which these were going to impose, especially on his mother.  It was like listening to a version of ‘man’s inhumanity to man,’ and feeling utterly powerless.

I couldn’t settle down to do anything so,  a bit like W.B. Yeats, I went down to  the Prom in Tramore ‘because a fire was in my head.’  What greeted me was a boiling sea but one that was cast in a light, not unlike the composure of the man who had been talking on the radio.

It all made me think that perhaps the greatest impact is made by those who don’t scream and roar nor lose sight of the ‘grand scheme of things.’  What do you reckon?

The Beach, Tramore, Co. Waterford
The Beach, Tramore, Co. Waterford

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

4 thoughts on “Fire in my Head over Budget 2013 ~ Gatherings from Ireland # 276”

  1. I’d say we just missed each other. I too used the boiling sea to comfort my boiling head, though my reasons for it boiling were less noble – was just sifting through tasks to be done. It did the trick. And yes, Liveline did highlight the poignant fallout of the budget. Later on in the show, a woman came on who lives on her own and isn’t mobile, who was trying to live a purposeful, dignified life, but was being stripped of the power to act for herself by the Government.

  2. Our entire system is broken I think and there are signs that there is some shocking news to come re the health service . I could not face the budget so tuned to Classic radio for the day, but had it been possible I would have gone to the sea instead! To me the sea emits an energy and the sound can be so calming. What a great place to extinguish the fire in your head.

  3. A lot of people felt in turmoil, I’ve been chained to Oireachtas TV for two days, watching and waiting to hear what I wanted to hear. So many people have been impacted by the bad budgets, but I keep on believing that we’re slowly on the road to improvement. I just cannot live seeing Fianna Fáil blame Labour and Fine Gael for the “cynicism” Labour and FG have put on the people of Ireland. Of course, FF totally forgot their own cynicism when they lied and cheated their way into the bailout and how they took €40 per month of invalidity pensions and other welfare payments. I don’t know how they still dare show their faces in public, ánd blame the current government for trying to undo their own mistakes. Urgh, even now I need to relax as FF just makes my blood boil 🙂

  4. Wow – I love the photo though and I hope the ocean helped soothe the fire. Politics and politicians can be incredibly frustrating, but scenes like that usually help.

Leave a Reply

